[Skip To Content]
University of North Texas 50 Years of Progress & Opportunity, 1954-2004
Understanding Our Past
Events & Sponsors
Planning Committee
View Shared Memories
Share Your Memories
Photo Album
Share Your Photographs

Gala Photographs

« Previous    Gala Photos Index    Next »

Barrier breakers from the 1990s

Barrier breakers from the 1990s
FIRST ROW, left to right: Phyllis Patterson; Constance Lacy; Regenia Phillips; Judy Anderson. SECOND ROW: Roy Culberson; Dr. Angela Eke; and Reginald Bond.

1990, Dr. William Gregory Sawyer, first African American dean of students

1990, first African American students in the UNT Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science

  • Trae Cotton
  • Steven King
  • Edward Thompson
  • Sharhonda Wilks

1991, Dr. Herman Totten, first UNT African American Regents professor

1992, Dr. Renay Ford Scales, first African American assistant vice president

1992, Dr. Gregory Sidberry, first African American UNT librarian

1994, Roy Culberson, first African American UNT associate athletic director

1994, Matt Simon, first African American UNT head football coach

1994, Phyllis Patterson, first African American UNT Foundation board member

1995, Reginald Bond, first African American director of UNT Student Health and Wellness Center

1996, Regenia Phillips, first African American director of UNT dining services

1996, Angela Eke, first African American UNT student to receive a prestigious national scholarship, the Spencer Foundation Pre-Dissertation Fellowship

1996, Dr. Pamela Hill, founding director Multicultural Center

1997, Renaldo Stowers, first African American associate general counsel at UNT

1998, Thomas King, organized UNT’s first African American alumni association, the Trailblazers

1998, Cassandra F. Berry, first UNT associate vice president, Division of Equity and Diversity

1999, Constance Lacy, first African American UNT student to win a Harry S. Truman Scholarship, a prestigious national scholarship

1999, first African American UNT Eagle Ambassadors, founding members

  • Judy Anderson
  • Dena Hulin
  • Ashley Johnson
  • Cynthia Uduebor

1999, Marjorie Craft, first African American president of the UNT Alumni Association

UNT would like to thank the following for their generosity in making these events possible
Diamond Sponsorship
UNT Office of the President
UNT Provost and VPAA
Platinum Sponsorship
UNT Division of Equity and Diversity

UNT University Relations, Communications & Marketing

Gold Sponsorship
Hallberg Foundation
UNT College of Arts and Sciences
Silver Sponsorship

Dr. James H. Gray

Quest Diagnostics
SBC Corporation
UNT Dallas Campus
UNT Trailblazers, Thomas King, President
Robert T. Victor
James & Ola Vineyard
UNT Department of Student Development
Robert and Marjorie Craft
SSP Consulting, L.C.
Joe and Gloria Kirven
Denton Area Teachers Credit Union
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Eta Chapter
DART - Gloria Dixon
UNT Fine Arts Series - Lindsey Keffer

Catherine W. Aker

A.J. Amundson
Ann Benson
Dr. Edward C. Bonk
Leemore F. Cook - Revocable Trust
Kippie Crouch
Thomas E. Dalton
Terese M. Gallinatti
Mary McDonnell Harris
Harold Heiberg
Alfred F. Hurley
Sara H. Kliewer
Carol Montgomery
King Moss II
Jerry Pinkerton
Robert D. Pulliam
Ross King Company
Sharon G. Sweat
Polly Thomas
Travis E. Tyer
Timothy S. Wicker
Charldean Newell
John Paul Eddy
David and Cheryl Kesterson
James and Karen Kelly
Gladys L. Longoria
Yuka Nakahara Goven
Carol and Ross King
James and Karen Duban
Patsy and Richard Calkins
Bill and Jo Luker
Become a sponsor
(requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader)