Financial Information

Tuition and Mandatory Fees

(Fees are Subject to Change)

The amounts shown below are provided to better assist students and parents in assessing the cost of enrolling at the University of North Texas (UNT). While this information is intended to be comprehensive, tuition, fees, room and board are subject to increase or decrease without notice by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of UNT. Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNT resulting from post audits and corrections, including all fees and waivers; i.e., registration assessing errors, changing from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc. For current information on tuition and fees, see the UNT Tuition, Fees and Other Charges printed for the particular academic year in which enrollment is planned, or inquire at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office). Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services is open from 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Students are responsible for payment of the following charges.

The UNT Board of Regents has been granted the authority, within established guidelines, to set graduate tuition rates by program.

Graduate tuition for all graduate level courses (5000- and 6000-level courses) at UNT is $26 per hour above the undergraduate rate. To calculate the costs for graduate-level courses (5000- and 6000-level courses), use the table below and then add $26 multiplied by the number of hours to the total amount. For example, this makes the estimated minimum amount for graduate enrollment at UNT for 3 hours a total of $432.40 for Texas resident tuition and mandatory fees during the fall or spring semester.

Tuition and Fees*

Undergraduate Tuition Rates

(Fees are Subject to Change)

Based on a 15-hour enrollment for two semesters, a Texas resident should expect to pay $2,852.00 (plus instructional fees), and a nonresident should expect to pay $9,332.00 (plus instructional fees). Special fees may be assessed for practice rooms or studios.

Graduate Tuition Rates

(Fees are Subject to Change)

The UNT Board of Regents has been granted the authority, within established guidelines, to set graduate tuition rates by program. Graduate tuition for all graduate-level courses (5000- and 6000-level courses) at UNT is $26 per hour above the undergraduate rate. To calculate the costs for graduate-level courses (5000- and 6000-level courses), use the table above and then add $26 multiplied by the number of hours to the total amount. For example, this makes the minimum amount for graduate enrollment at UNT for 3 hours a total of $432.40 for Texas resident tuition and mandatory fees during the fall or spring semester.

Explanation of Fees

(Fees are Subject to Change)

Student Service Fees

Student service fees are assessed in proportion to the number of semester credit hours for which a student registers to cover the cost of student services that directly involve or benefit students, including, but not limited to, recreational activities, artist and lecture series, cultural entertainment series, debating and oratorical activities and student government.

Student Union Fee

A fixed student union fee is collected from each enrolled student for the purpose of operating, maintaining, improving and equipping the University Union. Activities financed by the student union fee are limited to those in which the entire student body is eligible to participate.

Technology Use Fees

Technology use fees are collected in proportion to the number of credit hours for which a student registers to defray costs associated with the addition of student computer laboratories, classroom technology support, development of the degree audit system and instruction-related activities in the Computing Center.

Medical Services Fee

The fixed medical services fee is used solely to provide medical services to students registered at the university.

International Education Fee

A fixed international education fee is collected from each enrolled student to be used in support of an international education financial aid fund. This fund allows an equal opportunity for all students to participate in student exchange and study abroad programs.

ID Card Fee

A fixed ID card fee is collected from each enrolled student to cover the costs associated with issuing student identification cards and developing and maintaining the access and privilege control system.

Library Use Fee

The library use fee is collected in proportion
to the number of credit hours for which a student registers to support the development and maintenance of library collections and to provide expanded operating hours and other services to meet student needs.

Publication Fee

A fixed publication fee is collected from each enrolled student to defray costs associated with publication and distribution of schedules of classes, catalogs, and other publications available to all students.

Property Damage Deposit

Each student who enrolls pays a property damage deposit that is refundable on request upon final withdrawal or graduation. If not claimed within four years after last enrollment date, the deposit is non-refundable. Refund request forms are available in Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office).

Fees Related to Instruction

Instructional fees fall into three fee categories. Please note that for billing purposes, these fee categories are grouped together and billed as one instructional fee.

Instructional fees are due at the time of registration or the payment deadline for early registered students. These fees are refundable according to the university refund policy. If a student desires to know what portion of an instructional fee falls into each category listed below, they may contact Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office) at (940) 565-3225 or the Registrar's Office at (940) 565-2111.

Course Fees

Course fees are charged to cover consumable supplies, syllabi, tests, salaries and wages of employees who assist in the preparation, distribution and supply of classroom materials and some equipment purchases related directly to student participation in the classroom or laboratory. Course fees can, in some instances, save students money by bulk purchasing of goods and services. These fees are set at the minimum cost of services that all students in the department or division receive.

Laboratory Fees

Laboratory fees are only applicable to courses that require students to register for a laboratory section. Laboratory fees are collected to cover the cost of materials and supplies used by students in the laboratory. The laboratory fee may not be less than $2 nor more than $30 for any one semester or summer term.

Special Service Fees

Special service fees are collected to help offset the cost of materials and services a student is eligible to receive while enrolled in a course. These fees are directly related to classroom, laboratory or practicum activity and may cover the wages of employees who assist in the instructional process such as models, tutors, proctors or laboratory assistants.

The chart below shows the breakdown of course fees currently charged by UNT.

Amount of Fee* | Number of Courses*

$ 0 - $ 30 | 3,212

$ 31 - $ 50 | 648

$ 51 - $ 100 | 240

$ 101 - $ 150 | 80

$ 151 - $ 200 | 11

$ 201 - $ 250 | 7

$ 251 - $ 300 | 13

$ 301 - $ 350 | 7

$ 351 - $ 400 | 0

More than $400 | 1

*Fees based on information available as of December 1998 for Spring 1999.

Fees are subject to change. To hear the most current total instructional fee charges by course call ASSIST at (940) 565-3701.

Admission Application Fee

All applicants new to the University of North Texas must pay a $25 (U.S. residents and permanent resident aliens) or $50 (all others, i.e., international students) non-refundable admission application fee.

Option to Pay Tuition by Installment

The Texas Legislature has the authority to modify or eliminate installment payment of tuition at each regular or called legislative session.

UNT provides for the payment of tuition and fees during the fall and spring semesters through the following alternatives:

1. full payment of tuition and fees upon registration or by the payment deadline for early registration; or

2. one-half payment of tuition and fees upon registration, or by the payment deadline for early registration, with separate one-fourth payments prior to the start of the sixth and 11th class weeks. Note: All course-related or optional fees are paid with the initial installment payment.

Tuition and fees must be paid in full for each summer term upon registration or by the payment deadline for early registration. Tuition payment by installment is not offered during the summer.

Non-Refundable Fee for Tuition by Installment

Handling fee: $12.50

Note: All instructional fees and optional fees are paid with the initial installment payment including the non-refundable handling fee of $12.50. Students who choose the installment plan option recognize they are in a contractual relationship and accept the terms of the installment plan contract. A student who fails to make payment of tuition and fees (including any incidental fees) by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made. A student who fails to make payment prior to the end of the semester may be denied credit for the work done that semester.

See Schedule of Classes for procedures and policies concerning installment payment of tuition.

Tuition and Fee Payments

Credit card payments (MasterCard, Visa and Discover only) may be made by calling the ASSIST Voice Response System at (940) 565-3701. Tuition and fee payments also may be made by personal check, money order, cashier's check, ID Plus or cash. Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office) requires the student identification number to be recorded on all check and money order payments.

Cash Payments

Cash payments are accepted only at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office) in the Eagle Student Services Center. Please do not mail cash payments.

Tuition and Fee Policies

Tuition covers undergraduate and graduate work. It and the various fees provide limited health services and admission to university-sponsored fine arts and athletic events. Instructional fees, materials fees and private instruction fees are additional. Students must purchase their own textbooks and supplies.

Fees charged for application, late registration, duplication of records, graduation and regalia, late filing for graduation, replacement diplomas and miscellaneous items are noted in the 1999-2000 Tuition, Fees and Other Charges available at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office).

Residency Regulations for Tuition Purposes

Rules and regulations for determining residence status are specified under Title 3 of the Texas Education Code and are available in the Office of Admissions and the Office of the Registrar. In general, students must physically reside in Texas for the 12-month period immediately preceding their initial registration in an educational institution in Texas. Other factors may be considered for residency determination for tuition.

Students who are not legal residents of Texas must pay nonresident tuition, including the statutory tuition charges and standard university fees approved by the Board of Regents. Admission requirements for nonresidents are the same as for resident students.

Certain residency exceptions do not affect actual residency status but do allow for a nonresident tuition exemption. Refer to "Tuition and Fee Waivers" in this section for further information.

Responsibility of the Student

The student is responsible for knowing residence status and for registering under the proper status. Any questions concerning residence must be discussed with the proper authority in the Office of Admissions and/or Registrar's Office prior to registration.

Any student erroneously classified as a resident will be reclassified and required to pay all out-of-state tuition due. Attempts to evade nonresident fees may subject the student to the statute penalty and to possible disciplinary action.

Change of Status: Nonresident to Resident

A student who is at any time classified as a nonresident retains nonresident status until reclassification as a resident is applied for and officially approved by the Registrar.

Change of Status: Resident to Nonresident

Students who are classified as residents but become nonresidents by virtue of any change of domicile must notify the Registrar of such change immediately. Students who believe they have been erroneously classified have the opportunity for appeal. The appeal is to be made to the authority by whom the original classification was assigned, either in the Office of Admissions or Registrar's Office.

Tuition and Fee Waivers

Several exemptions and waivers are available to qualifying students. Brief descriptions of these are listed below. Waiver refunds must be requested during the semester application is made. Such requests must be made prior to the 12th class day in long semesters, the 4th class day in the summer terms, 2nd class day in the mini-mesters. Requests for retroactive refunds cannot be honored. Additional information and applications are available at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office). Posted waivers are subject to post audit and correction.

Exemptions and Waivers

1. Certain veterans, dependents, etc., of the armed forces of the United States are exempted from payment of tuition.

2. Certain orphans of members of the U.S. armed forces, Texas National Guard and Texas Air National Guard are exempted from payment of tuition.

3. Certain students from other nations of the American hemisphere are exempted from payment of tuition.

4. Deaf or blind Texas residents are exempted from payment of tuition and mandatory fees.

5. Certain disabled peace officers are exempted from payment of tuition and fees.

6. Children of disabled firemen, peace officers, employees of the Texas Department of Corrections and game wardens are exempted from payment of tuition.

7. Children of U.S. prisoners of war or of persons missing in action are granted exemption of tuition.

8. Resident rather than nonresident tuition is applied to out-of-state students enrolled through the Academic Common Market.

9. Resident rather than nonresident tuition is applied to U.S. military personnel and dependents. (Certificate must be approved by the Registrar prior to registration.)

10. Resident rather than nonresident tuition is applied to teachers and professors of Texas state institutions of higher education, their spouses and their children.

11. Resident rather than nonresident tuition is applied to a teaching or research assistant provided the student is employed at least one-half time by UNT in a position that relates to the degree sought.

12. Resident rather than nonresident tuition is applied to a nonresident holding a UNT competitive academic scholarship of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer for which the student is enrolled.

13. Students who are concurrently enrolled in more than one public institution of higher education in Texas may pay a reduced tuition rate at UNT.

14. Texas residents who are candidates for graduation pay a reduced tuition rate for thesis or dissertation credit if that is the final credit hour requirement for the degree in progress.

15. Certain university fees are waived for students enrolled only in courses designated as off-campus or internships.

16. Highest-ranking graduates (valedictorians) of Texas accredited high schools are exempted from payment of tuition for the first two long semesters after graduation from high school. Students must pay mandatory fees and course fees.

17. Certain Texas residents who are or have been in foster care or other residential care are exempted from payment of tuition and mandatory fees.

18. Certain Texas residents who have received financial assistance under Chapter 31 of the Human Resources Code (AFDC) qualify for a tuition and fee waivers for one year.

19. Resident rather than nonresident tuition is applied to individuals and dependents relocating to Texas as part of the program of state economic development and diversification.

20. Certain early high school graduates from Texas are exempt from the payment of tuition. Student must pay mandatory fees and instructional fees.

21. Students 65 years or older are exempt from paying tuition and graduate tuition for up to six credit hours each semester. Students must pay mandatory fees and instructional fees.

22. Certain educational aides who are employed in the State of Texas may be exempted from payment of tuition and fees.

Tuition and Fee Refunds

A student who drops a course or withdraws from the university within certain time periods may be entitled to a partial refund of tuition and fees. These refunds are calculated according to the category and time schedule listed below. Delinquent payment fees, late registration charges, publication fees, fees for student ID and installment handling fees are non-refundable. Any financial obligation to UNT must be resolved before any refunds will be made.

Class Drop Refunds

Refunds are made for any course dropped through the 12th class day for the long semester (4th class day in the summer terms; 2nd class day in the mini-mesters). The semester's first class day is always the first official university day of classes and not the first day of an individual's class.

To calculate the refund for a class dropped, take the fee paid for the original hours and subtract the fee shown in the 1999-2000 Tuition, Fees and Other Charges for the new number of hours. The difference between the two is the amount credited to the student account. Refunds for dropped classes are processed after the sixth class week in the long semesters and after the second class week in the summer semesters. Note: If all classes for the semester are dropped, see "Schedule of Withdrawal Refunds" in this section.

Students applying for financial aid are required to notify Student Financial Aid and Scholarships before dropping any class to learn how it will affect current or future financial aid eligibility.

Figuring Drop Refund

1. Total tuition and mandatory fees charges for original hours enrolled (add instruction fees). Example (9 Hours) = $931.20 ($887.20 + $44.00)

2. Total tuition, mandatory fees and instructional fees charged for number of hours enrolled at the end of the 12th class day for long semesters or the 4th class day for summer semesters. Example (6 hours) = $646.80 ($617.80 + $29.00)

3. Difference = $284.40

The difference (Line 3) is the amount credited to your student account and applied to any balance or installment payment due UNT before any refund will be made.

Withdrawal from the University

Withdrawal refunds are determined by the number of enrolled semester credit hours at the time of withdrawal. Withdrawal percentages are applied to the total amount of tuition and fees as prescribed by state law, not the amount paid. The withdrawal schedule and percentages of refund shown below pertain to total withdrawal from the semester and are mandated by the state legislature. The semester's first class day is always the first official university day of classes and not the first day the individual attends class. A withdrawal refund is based on the day of withdrawal, regardless of the date the class first meets.

Additional information may be found in the 1999-2000 Tuition, Fees and Other Charges or by contacting Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office).

Withdrawal ­ Title IV Financial Aid Fund Recipients

A pro rata refund calculation will be made for students who:

1. are attending UNT for the first time;

2. are receiving Title IV financial aid funds;

3. withdraw before the end of the ninth week of classes in a long semester and before the end of the third week of classes in the summer terms.

The withdrawal schedule and percentage of a pro-rata refund pertain to total withdrawal from the semester and are mandated by federal law. Please contact Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office) regarding pro-rata refund schedules and percentages.

Refund of Property Damage Deposit

A student who does not return to the university because of a transfer, graduation or withdrawal from school must request refund of the property damage deposit; the refund is not automatic. If not claimed within four years after the last enrollment date, the deposit is nonrefundable and the proceeds are used to fund scholarships. Request for refund of this deposit should be made to Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office).

Schedule of Withdrawal Refunds, 1999-2000

Withdrawal Dates | Percent of Refund (less non-refundable fees*)

Fall 1999

Through 8/28/1999 | 100%

8/30/1999-9/06/1999 | 80%

9/07/1999­9/13/1999 | 70%

9/14/1999-9/20/1999 | 50%

9/21/1999-9/27/1999 | 25%

Spring 2000

Through 1/17/2000 | 100%

1/18/2000-1/24/2000 | 80%

1/25/2000-1/31/2000 | 70%

2/01/2000-2/07/2000 | 50%

2/08/2000-2/14/2000 | 25%

May Mini-mester 2000

Through 5/13/2000 | 100%

5/14/2000-5/15/2000 | 80%

5/16/2000-5/17/2000 | 50%

Summer I 2000

Through 6/02/2000 | 100%

6/05/2000-6/07/2000 | 80%

6/08/2000-6/13/2000 | 50%

Summer II 2000

Through 7/07/2000 | 100%

7/10/2000-7/12/2000 | 80%

7/13/2000-7/18/2000 | 50%

*Delinquent payment fees ($10), late registration charges ($25), publication fees ($13 per fall or spring semester, $6.50 per summer term), ID card fees ($3) and installment handling fees ($12.50) are non-refundable.

Tuition Rebates for Certain Undergraduates

Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education Code provides up to a $1,000 tuition rebate to students meeting the following conditions. The student:

1. must have enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the fall 1997 semester or later;

2. must be requesting a rebate for work related to a first baccalaureate degree received from a Texas public university;

3. must have been a resident of Texas, must have attempted all coursework at a Texas public institution of higher education, and have been entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree; and

4. must have attempted no more than 3 hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which the student will graduate. Hours attempted include transfer credits, course credit earned exclusively by examination, courses that are dropped after the official census date, for-credit developmental courses, optional internship and cooperative education courses and repeated courses. Courses dropped for reasons that are determined by the institution to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.

For additional information concerning tuition rebates, contact the Registrar's Office or your academic adviser.

General Financial Policies

UNT is a state-assisted institution subject to state laws. Extension of credit is prohibited and all financial obligations to the university must be paid when due. Tuition, fees, and room and board are subject to change by action of the Texas Legislature or the Board of Regents of UNT.

Correction of Errors

Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNT resulting from auditing and correction of records after registration fees have been paid including all registration assessment errors, change from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.

Payments by Third Party

Checks issued by a third party in payment of a student's tuition, fees or other charges made by UNT should be made payable to the student rather than solely to the university or jointly to the student and UNT. Arrangements may be made with Student Financial Aid and Scholarships in cases where cash amounts should not be made available to the student.

Returned Checks

A returned check is defined as any check or similar sight order returned to the university unpaid due to no fault of the bank or the university.

Upon receipt of a returned check, notification is mailed to the issuing party or the individual in whose behalf the check was issued. The address on the check and/or the address in the official university records is used. The check is payable on or before 10 working days from the date of the notice. Only cash, cashier's check or money order is accepted for payment of the returned check and service charge ($25 per check).

A student may be withdrawn immediately from the university if payment is not made within the stated time period. DO NOT, however, stop attending classes unless you receive official notification of your withdrawal. Notification of withdrawal is made to the address on the check and/or the address in the official university records.

After the check and service charge are paid in full, a student may request reinstatement. This process must be initiated in person within five days from the date of withdrawal, and a $40 reinstatement fee is charged. A student may not be reinstated more than once per academic year.

An appeal is possible if the student believes the university has prejudicially applied this return check policy. Notice of such intention must be given in writing to the Dean of Students Office within five days of the withdrawal date.

Check-issuing privileges are suspended while any returned check and/or service charge are outstanding.

If the university receives three or more returned checks during an academic year, the check-issuing privileges of the individual are revoked.

If all attempts to collect a returned check have failed, civil or criminal legal action may be taken in accordance with Texas state law (Sections 31.06 and 32.41 of the Texas Penal Code).

Stop-Payment on Tuition Checks

A student who has not already done so will be withdrawn from UNT on the date the returned stop-payment check is received by UNT. A returned check service charge ($25 per check) will be assessed. Tuition refund charges are computed by normal refund policy.

If a student wishes to be withdrawn, the Registrar's Office should always be contacted as soon as possible.

Financial Aid

UNT provides several methods of assisting undergraduate students in financing their education. Applications and complete descriptions of all programs, requirements and qualifications are available at Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, Eagle Student Services Center, or call (940) 565-2302 or (940) 565-2016.

Application Period and Deadlines

The application period begins January 1 of each year for the following academic year. Students whose application files are completed by the following priority dates are ensured first consideration for awards. Application information is received electronically from the federal processing agency through which applications were filed. It includes the data from the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal Application. The application data must reach our office before a file can be processed.

Priority Dates:

· Fall/spring semester: June 1

· Spring semester only: October 1

· Summer sessions: April 1

A UNT summer application is required for summer financial aid. This application is available at Student Financial Aid and Scholarships beginning February for the following summer sessions.

General Eligibility Requirements

Before any assistance is granted (Federal Pell Grant, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, Federal Work-Study, Federal Perkins Loan or Federal Stafford Loan), general eligibility and program requirements must be met. To be eligible for financial aid you must:

1. establish eligibility through the appropriate need analysis form;

2. not be in default on any Title IV loan (Federal Perkins or Federal Stafford), or owe a refund or repayment on educational funds received at any institution;

3. be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident of the United States;

4. be registered with the Selective Service if you are a male at least 18 years old born after December 31, 1959; eligible male noncitizens who are permanent residents are required to register if they are between the ages of 18 and 25 at the time of becoming a permanent resident.

5. enroll in at least a half-time class load for most programs;

6. use all funds received through financial aid for educational purposes;

7. be accepted for admission by the university and enrolled in a degree program; and

8. be making reasonable academic progress.

Note: Transient students and summer visiting students are not eligible for financial aid.

Special Conditions for Financial Aid Applicants

1. Students who withdraw from classes must go to Student Financial Aid and Scholarships for official clearance before leaving the university.

2. Any refunds that result from withdrawal from the university may be credited or applied to the financial aid programs of assistance from which money was originally awarded. Additional repayment of funds disbursed to students who withdraw may be required.

3. Official transcripts are not issued to any student who has an unpaid account or owes a delinquent student loan at the university.

4. Federal and state regulations require that each student must maintain reasonable academic progress to be eligible for financial aid programs. Minimum standards must be achieved by the end of any given enrollment period at UNT. Reasonable academic progress is defined in both quantitative and qualitative measures. The quantitative measure requires an undergraduate to:

a. complete all course degree requirements within a maximum of 186 semester credit hours of enrollment; and

b. complete a minimum number of hours by the end of each academic year based on each student's registered hours.

Using the following chart to determine the number of hours that must be completed, the student should locate the total number of registered hours. The student must then complete, pass and earn credit in the number of hours listed below.

Total Registered Hours | Minimum Earned,Completed and Passed Hours

1 | 1

2 | 2

3-5 | 3

6-11 | 6

12-15 | 9

16-19 | 12

20-23 | 15

24+ | 18

Graduate Fall/Spring | Graduate Summer

Full-time (9 or more hours) | 6 or more hours

3/4-time (6-8 hours) | 4-5 hours

1/2-time (4-5 hours) | 2-3 hours

Undergraduate Fall/Spring | Undergraduate Summer

Full-time (12 or more hours) | 8 or more hours

3/4-time (9-11 hours) | 6-7 hours

1/2-time (6-8 hours) | 4-5 hours

All academic requirements are effective whether or not financial aid has ever been applied for or received. For students not meeting reasonable academic progress at the end of an enrollment period, the reasonable academic progress will be reevaluated at the end of the next semester attended at UNT to determine if the student will be eligible for financial aid.

The qualitative measure requires an undergraduate to maintain the minimum cumulative UNT grade point average. The minimum cumulative grade point average is 1.8 for students with fewer than 30 hours and 2.0 for undergraduate students with 30 or more hours.

Financial aid recipients must notify Student Financial Aid and Scholarships before dropping courses or withdrawing. Current semester, year or future aid eligibility may be affected. Enrollment hours for loan deferment and financial aid eligibility may differ from those published in this catalog. Also see "Enrollment Certification" in the Enrollment section of this catalog.

Financial Aid Voice Response System (FAVORS)

The Financial Aid Voice Response System (FAVORS) can be accessed by any touch-tone telephone by dialing (940) 565-2016. This system offers a convenient and accurate method of obtaining information through direct access to computerized financial aid data. It provides information about the application process, types of financial aid available and other important information. It also gives up-to-date information about the processing status of a file once an application is received. When calling, students should be prepared to enter their social security number, date of birth and the appropriate semester. The menu-driven system will provide options to obtain information. FAVORS is operational from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Assistance Programs

Available scholarships and student financial aid programs are described below. If additional information is needed, contact Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

Scholarships

UNT offers a variety of competitive scholarships. Awards are open to competition on a universitywide basis. Additional awards are designated for students in such specific subject areas as accounting, aerospace studies, art, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, history, merchandising and hospitality management, mathematics and music.

Scholarships are awarded on the basis of a student's academic qualifications. Generally, UNT scholarships range in value from $200 to $2,000. The most prestigious are the Board of Regents' Excellence and President's scholarships. Out-of-state and international students who are recipients of university competitive academic scholarships may be eligible to receive a waiver of out-of-state tuition.

Application forms for General Academic Scholarships are available from Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, located in the Eagle Student Services Center. Applications received by March 31 will be given first consideration for the upcoming academic year. Application forms for departmental scholarships as well as deadline information are available from the individual departments and schools of the university.

Grant Programs

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant

Undergraduate students may apply for this program. Funds are awarded based upon the availability of monies, expected family contribution, financial need, at least half-time enrollment, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

University of North Texas Grant

Funds are awarded based upon the availability of monies, expected family contribution, financial need, at least half-time enrollment, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

Federal Pell Grant

Actual eligibility levels are determined by federal standards through the Federal Processing Agency. To receive funds after eligibility is determined, a student must maintain reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships and be classified as an undergraduate.

Texas Public Education Grant

Eligibility is based upon availability of funds, financial need, at least half-time enrollment, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

State Student Incentive Grant

This is a state grant program for Texas residents. Eligibility is based upon at least half-time enrollment, availability of funds, undergraduate standing, financial need, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

Texas New Horizons Scholarship Program

This is a state grant program for Texas residents. Eligibility is based upon at least half-time enrollment, availability of funds, undergraduate standing, financial need, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. Recipients of an athletic scholarship are excluded.

Partial Tuition Awards

Awards are made, based on availability of funds, to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate financial need, enroll at least half-time, and maintain reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

Benefits for Veterans

Students who have served on active duty may be eligible for educational benefits from the federal Department of Veterans Affairs.

The Department of Veterans Affairs also provides educational assistance to widows and children of veterans who died while in service or after discharge from a service-connected disability, and wives and children of veterans who have a service-connected disability considered to be total and permanent in nature. Forms and information concerning certification for VA benefit purposes are available in the Registrar's Office.

Veterans with specific questions concerning the administration of benefits should contact the Regional VA Office in Waco (800) 827-1000.

Hazelwood Act for Texas Veterans

Application forms and information on tuition waivers for qualified veterans are available at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services (formerly Bursar's Office), first floor, Eagle Student Services Center.

Employment

Federal Work-Study Program

Eligibility for the Federal Work-Study Program is determined by financial need, at least half-time enrollment and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. Students awarded the Federal Work-Study Program can go to the Student Employment Office to be referred for job interviews. Most positions require 15-20 hours of work per week. Referrals for job interviews are based upon availability of funds, student work skills, educational background and interest. Eligibility must be determined each semester to continue in the Federal Work-Study Program.

Student Employment Services

Student Employment Services, located on the third floor of the University Union, provides a variety of employment opportunities on and off campus to currently enrolled students in order
to help them offset their college expenses and develop good work records. For information, call (940) 565-2425.

Loan Programs

Federal Perkins Student Loan

The Federal Perkins Student Loan is federally funded. Awards are based upon available funds, financial need, at least half-time enrollment, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. Maximum and aggregate limits are imposed based upon classification status.

Repayment begins six months after termination of at least half-time enrollment, and general repayment criteria vary depending upon the time the funds are borrowed from the program.

Hinson-Hazlewood Loan

This loan is for Texas residents and is based upon financial need, at least half-time enrollment, and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. Maximum and aggregate limits are imposed based upon classification status. Repayment criteria vary depending upon the time the funds are borrowed from the program.

Federal Stafford Loan

All Federal Stafford Loans are awarded based upon financial need, at least half-time enrollment and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. Maximum and aggregate limits are imposed based upon classification status. Repayment criteria vary depending upon the time the funds are borrowed.

Federal Unsubsidized Stafford Loan

This loan is awarded based upon at least half-time enrollment and maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) must be submitted before an award will be determined. Maximum and aggregate limits are imposed based upon classification status. Repayment begins six months after termination of at least half-time enrollment.

Federal Parent Loan (PLUS)

This loan is awarded to parents of dependent students based upon at least half-time enrollment of the student and the student's maintaining reasonable academic progress standards as defined by the office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) must be submitted before an award will be determined. Repayment begins upon receipt of funds.

Room and Board

Room and board fees are subject to increase and decrease by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of the University of North Texas. During 1998-99, room and board based upon an air conditioned, double occupancy room with a seven-day meal plan cost $3,938.10. Other options are available, including Santa Fe Square, which has a different pricing structure.

For information concerning fees charged for residence hall living, consult the UNT Tuition, Fees and Other Charges printed for the particular academic year in which enrollment is planned or write to the Housing Department, P.O. Box 311310, Denton, TX 76203-1310.

Additional Catalogs

Each enrolled student with a valid UNT ID is eligible to receive one complimentary catalog each year beginning July 1.

Additional copies of this catalog may be purchased for $5 at the UNT Bookstore in the University Union on the campus of the University of North Texas. They also may be purchased by mail by sending a check or money order for $5 made payable to the University of North Texas to the address below.

University of North Texas

UNT Catalog

P.O. Box 305148

Denton, TX 76203-5148

(940) 565-2108

Allow three to six weeks for delivery. For first class delivery, add an additional $3.20 (or an additional $10.00 if outside the contiguous United States) for shipping and handling.

Top | Undergraduate Catalog General Information | UNT Undergraduate Catalog Shortcuts | Additional Undergraduate Literature