Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

November 5, 2004

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts), Ginger Boone (University Union), Allen Bradley (Computing and IT Center), Sandy Burke (Computing and IT Center), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (School of Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Jim Curry (Microcomputer Maintenance/Classroom Support Services), Cyndie Harris (UNT Facilities), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (Student Computing Committee, Computing and IT Center),  Paul Hons (College of Education), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Scott Joyce (Housing), Brenda Kirk (Computing and IT Center), Maurice Leatherbury (Chair, Executive Director of Information Technology and Academic Computing), Burton Lee (College of Music), Mike Maner (Computing and IT Center), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Dallas Newell (Registrar's Office), Bruce Pollock (ABN LAN Mgmt), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Brad Varcoe (Police Department), Mike Wright (Computing and IT Center), Yancey Yeargan (College of Engineering), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science), 

Members Present
Chu Chuah (School of Community Service), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (Student Computing Committee, Computing and IT Center), Paul Hons (College of Education), Mike Maner (Computing and IT Center),
Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), James Strawn for Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Yancey Yeargan (College of Engineering) 

Richard Anderson (Computing and IT Center), Philip Baczewski (Computing and IT Center), Jim Byford (ABN LAN Mgmt),  Jason Gutierrez (Computing and IT Center), Judy Hunter (Libraries), Krysta Kaye (Libraries), Bahram Paiani (Computing and IT Center), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Dennis Scroggins (Computing and IT Center),  Mitch Smith (Computing and IT Center), Yoke Teo (Computing and IT Center), Glenn Thorpe
(Computing and IT Center), Scott Windham (Computing and IT Center)

Approval of Minutes
Minutes from October 15, 2004 were approved as written.

The November 5, 2004 meeting was chaired by Dr. Philip Baczewski.

Password Aging Process
Philip Baczewski reported that changes have been made to the password aging process and schedule.  The new priority is to expire faculty and staff passwords soon.  The computing and information technology center tested the password expiration process and uncovered a few issues that were later resolved.  The primary goal of this initiative is to expire all passwords prior to dead week.  Notifications will be delivered to affected users.  Student passwords are scheduled to be reset on December 31, 2004. 

Old Business
Philip announced several CITC newsworthy items:

New Business
The November 19, 2004 DCSMT meeting will be replaced by a Microsoft technical briefing.  Lunch will be provided courtesy of Microsoft.

Status Reports
James Strawn reported that the college of arts and sciences is NETBIOS free.

Chris Straus reported that Remedy will be updated within the next few weeks.  Knowledgebases will be integrated with the new Helpdesk telephone system.

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner reported that she is thinking about what training courses to offer.   Contact Elizabeth to request specific courses.

Glenn Thorpe reported on the advantages of using ePolicy Orchestrator and McAfee VirusScan 8.0i.  At the request of DCSMT,  Information security will administer the central ePolicy Orchestrator server.  Distributed areas will be given access rights to remotely manage the agents installed on machines in their areas.  

Glenn also announced that a consultant will deliver ePolicy Orchestrator training on Tuesday, November 16, 2004.  Refreshments will be provided.

The meeting adjourned at 10:55 am.


Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on December 16, 2004.  Send comments to Maurice Leatherbury.