Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

July 1, 2005

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts), Ginger Boone (University Union), Sandy Burke (Computing and IT Center), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Jim Curry (Microcomputer Maintenance/Classroom Support Services), Cyndie Harris (UNT Facilities), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Scott Joyce (Housing), Brenda Kirk (Computing and IT Center), Burton Lee (College of Music), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Dallas Newell (Enrollment Management), Bruce Pollock (ABN LAN Mgmt), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra for Scott Jackson (UNT Libraries), Sandy Burke (Computing and IT Center), Scott Joyce (Housing), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Stormy Shippy for Brenda Kirk (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center)

Richard Anderson (Computing & IT Center), Justin Cuombs (Computing and IT Center), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (Computing and IT Center), Judy Hunter (UNT Libraries), Matt Kernan (Housing), Maurice Leatherbury (Computing and IT Center), Claudia Lynch (Computing and IT Center), Mike Maner (Computing and IT Center), Don McClure (Computing and IT Center), Tom McElwee (Computing and IT Center), Garrett Rumohr (UNT Libraries), Charlotte Russell (Computing and IT Center),  Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Pat Schaider (Computing and IT Center), Andrew Stein (Computer Sciences), David Wood (Computing and IT Center), Yancey Yeargan (Computing and IT Center)


Minutes from June 17, 2005 were approved as written .

LDAP and Single Sign-On Update

Yancey Yeargan discussed current LDAP issues.  The Auth directory is running and reliable.  Several changes have been made recently and he thinks all the problems have been fixed.  He asked the managers to let him know if they experienced problems using this server. Eaglemail account creation has also been updated and is running smoothly.  LDAP directory has been cleaned up significantly to remove extraneous data.  The database size has dropped 20%.

The Single Sign-on committee met this week.  There are a number of concerns regarding single sign-on, including security risks, as well as the challenges of synchronization between the different systems (LDAP and Novell).  One idea was to add the EMPLID to the Novell accounts, so that there would be a common field for authentication.  One major problem was pointed out when the programs requiring the use of the EUID and password have no warning given if the password has expired.  Philip Baczewski is looking into an automated email sent reminding the user they need to go to AMS to reset their password before it expires.  Problems were noted that a lot of people have not had their preferred email set correctly, so may still not get the message. 

Philip Baczewski asked the committee to continue to meet to see if they can propose some recommendations as to how to proceed.

Campus-wide Backup Update

Philip Baczewski discussed the Legato backup ofNetware servers problems.  The Legato server had a major problem on June 23, and the server was rebuilt.  Some backup index files were lost, and the Unix Services Group is executing full backups on Netware servers to catch up with those.  The USG is also looking into alternative solutions, and in the meantime, backups are again running on a stable basis.  No automated notifications are going out because it is a manual process.  Matt Duncan is going to send manual notifications as he can.  Any questions can be directed to Matt Duncan. 


An update was requested concerning the use of  ID Picture.  Craig Terrell called a meetingthis week.  Essentially the interest was to be able to use the ID Card pictures in online applications.  Joey Saxon has given his verbal okay to use these pictures with his group granting access on individual basis for an application.  FERPA and the use of directory information was mentioned as something that needs to be verified by the Registrar's Office and/or our legal staff. 


Uwe Rossbach asked the group if he could get copies of any written emergency management documents so he can see examples.  Charlotte Russell offered to share documents.  Philip Baczewski suggested contacting Paul Hons in Education since he recently went through this process.

Andrew Stein introduced himself as the Computer Sciences Department support representative. 

Yancey Yeargan let the group know that the OES Box for Open Enterprise Linux is available in NCS.  Check with Daren Dugan if you have questions.


Uwe Rossbach has a date of August 15 to switching to the keycard swipe system for Research Park.  This will affect anyone needing access to the Research Park after hours and exclusively controls outside doors.  Anyone needing access will need to have a copy of the latest ID Card. 

Maurice Leatherbury mentioned that the LEARN Network had its first lighting between Houston and College Station.  It is being used to carry traffic between ISPs in Houston and College Station.

The meeting was adjourned at 11 a.m. The next meeting will be July 15, 2005.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on September 02, 2005.  Send comments to Philip Baczewski