Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Draft Meeting Minutes

July 21, 2006

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Jim Curry (Microcomputer Maintenance/ Classroom Support Services), Cyndie Harris (UNT Facilities), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Scott Joyce (Housing), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/LAN Support), Bruce Pollock (ABN LAN Mgmt), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Reigistrar/ESSC), Kacey Close (substituting for Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts)), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), James Strawn (substituting for Tim Chistian (College of Arts and Sciences)), Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin &Comm. Svc), Wil Clark (Univ. Systems Center @ Dallas), Nick Anderson (Substituting for Cindy Harris (Facilities)), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (UNT Libraries), Scott Joyce (UNT Business Services), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Jim Byford (substituting for Bruce Pollock (ABN Lan Mgmt)), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Admin)

T. J. Adamoulicz (Police and Traffic), Bruce Berg (Student Development), Daren Dugan (CITC Network Computing Services), Tom Delozier (UNT HSC), Matt Duncan (CITC UNIX Services), Mac Edwards (CITC Helpdesk), Katy Gallahan (UNT Libraries), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Cathy Hardy (Computing and IT Center), Bill Jones (UNT HSC), Matt Kernan (CEN Computing Services), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Tom McElwee (CITC Technical Support Services), Jason Myre (CITC NCS), Robert Nimocks (UNT HSC), Andy Novak (CITC Admin/Compliance), Steve Radcliff (SOVA), Tri-Ever Rustee (CITC Wonder Dog), Steve Vocelka (Computing and IT Center), Scott Windham (CITC Data Communications), David Wood (CITC Security), Shane Yeargan (UNT Libraries), Yancey Yeargan (CITC Network Computing Services)


Minutes from July 7, 2006, were approved as written.


Philip Baczewski announced the members of the Novell software review committee whose formation was discussed at the July 7 meeting. Those members are:

T.J. Adamowicz, Rich Anderson, Craig Berry, Jim Byford, Wil Clark, Katy Gallahan, Mike Hatch, Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner, Paul Hons, Abraham John, Bill Jones, Scott Joyce, Jason Myre, Bruce Pollock, Uwe Rossbach, Curry Searle, Craig Terrell, Yancey Yeargan

In addition he read the revised charge as follows:

DCSMT has been asked to examine the technical feasibility of replacing Novell Netware file, print, directory, and authentication services with an implementation of Microsoft Active Directory and Microsoft Server installations. Included in this charge is to investigate the possibility of moving from Groupwise to Microsoft Exchange as the primary administrative mail and collaboration system on campus. DCSMT should determine the services in use that are currently provided by Novell Netware, the replacement functionality or lack thereof in Microsoft systems, as well as the resource, technical support, and training requirements associated with a move away from Netware, including the possibilities of any gained efficiencies as a result from such a move. DCSMT should also determine Groupwise's scope and nature of use on campus, the technical and user support requirements for a transition from Groupwise to Exchange, resource requirements, and estimated license requirements based upon the number of users and mailboxes supported on campus. Committee findings should be made available in time for the December, 2006 meeting of the IRC.


No New Business was discussed.


No area reports were given.


John Kazmin, Gartner Group territory manager for higher education, spoke about the Gartner Portal and how to use the Gartner site along with Georgette Fitzpatrick (on speaker phone) who gave a demo of some of the site features. Tom McElwee is the UNT campus liaison for the Gartner portal.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:35 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for August 4, 2006.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on July 21, 2006. Send comments to Philip Baczewski