Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

August 4, 2006

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Jim Curry (Microcomputer Maintenance/ Classroom Support Services), Cyndie Harris (UNT Facilities), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Scott Joyce (Housing), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/LAN Support), Bruce Pollock (ABN LAN Mgmt), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Wil Clark (Univ System Center @ Dallas), Nick Anderson (substituting for Cyndie Harris (UNT Facilities)), Mike Hatch (COBA), Robert Wellman (substituting for Paul Hons (College of Education)), Judy Hunter (substituting for Scott Jackson (Libraries)), Scott Joyce (UNT Business Services), Gary Mathews (School of Library/Info Science), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Admin)

Brendan Carroll (ABN LAN Mgmt), Mac Edwards (CITC Helpdesk), Cathy Hardy (Computing and IT Center), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Student Computing), Matt Kernan (CEN Computing Sciences), Mike Maner (CITC Data Communications), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Ramu Muthiah (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Tri-Ever Rustee (CITC Wonder Dog), James Strawn (College of Arts and Sciences), Scott Windham (CITC Data Communications)


Minutes from July 21, 2006, were approved as written.


Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner reported that SPSS 14 is in place on the Markov server, and that she is working on making JAWS and MAGIC software available in the same manner. SPSS can now be installed with a Network license option pointed to a local UNT license server. Elizabeth should be contacted for the license server address required for installation. Lisrel 8.7 and Splus 7 are also being made available on Markov. A more fault-tolerant license server is planned for acquisition and installation in the CITC data center.


Philip Baczewski provided an update on the activities of the Novell Software evaluation committee. A survey for assessing current Netware, Groupwise, and Microsoft server use on campus is under development. A discussion ensued regarding the mission of the committee and the reasons for doing such an assessment at this time.


No new business was discussed.


Don McClure announced that Chris Strauss's dissertation was successfully defended.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:55 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for August 18, 2006.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on August 4, 2006. Send comments to Philip Baczewski