Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Draft Meeting Minutes

February 2, 2007

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Jim Curry (Microcomputer Maintenance/ Classroom Support Services), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Scott Joyce (Housing), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/LAN Support), Bruce Pollock (ABN LAN Mgmt), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Troy Bacon (AVP Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Craig Berry (School of Visual Arts), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Mike Hatch (COBA), Paul Hons (College of Education), Katy Gallahan (substituting for Scott Jackson (UNT Libraries)), Scott Joyce (UNT Business Services), Gary Mathews (School of Library/Info Sciences), Jim Byford (substituting for Bruce Pollock (ABN LAN Mgmt), Uwe Rossbach (College of Engineering), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Admin)

Richard Anderson (CITC Information Security), Charlie Andrews (College of Education), Tom Bunten (HSC Academic IS), Cathy Gonzalez (CITC EIS Computing), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Cathy Hardy (Computing and IT Center), John Hooper (CITC Administrative Info Sys), Krysta Kaye (CITC Data Communications), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Steven McKay (CITC EIS Computing), Jason Myre (CITC Network Computing Services), Andy Novak (CITC Admin/Compliance), Charlotte Russell (CITC Admin/Compliance), Stormy Shippy (CITC Telecommunications), Chris Stoermer (COBA), Yoke Teo (CITC Network Computing Services), Craig Terrell (CITC Network Computing Services), Steve Vocelka (CITC Computer Operations), Scott Windham (CITC Data Communications), David Wood (CITC Security), Mike Wright (CITC Disaster Recovery/Contract Mgmt)


Minutes from January 19, 2007, were approved as written.


Steve Vocelka reported that electricity will be down for 12 hrs on 2/24/07 in GAB 5th floor for scheduled power maintenance. This will affect the CITC 5th floor machine room areas and the CAS server room. All Central IT applications will be down (mail host will be down, Remedy will be down). Philip Baczewski asked if there would be accommodations made to redirect mail (so it won't bounce). Uwe Rossbach said that RP would be fully functional and available as an alternate site. Steve agreed to look into whether mail routing and other key services could be maintained through the outage.


Chris Strauss and Don McClure, assisted by Richard Sanzone, provided an overview of the proposed organization of the new Remedy/ITSM 7 call tracking system and demonstrated ticket creation and routing under the proposed organizational scheme. It was mentioned that because BMC no longer supports our current Remedy version, a daylight savings time patch would not be forthcoming, with possible ramification for ticket time stamps during the weeks of earlier daylight savings time this year.


Tim Christian inquired to the group as to what their plans were for implementing Office 2007 and Windows Vista. Some areas indicated they might roll out Office 2007 as soon as the Fall 2007 semester. The Outlook 2007 client may also be required to support the migration to the Exchange 2007 mail system. Mike Wright said we have (Windows) Vista upgrade version only (not OEM) and that UNT can't use 1 license key for everyone (Windows can see the difference between keys and an upgrade can only be used once). Ghosting will not work with new machines (but you can use the upgrade version). Uwe Rossbach said the upgrade key expires every 180 days and then must be re-registered. It was commented that every subnet needs an key server.


No old business was discussed.


No new business was discussed


No area reports were given

The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 16, 2007.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on February 2, 2007. Send comments to Philip Baczewski