Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

August 15, 2008

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (Collegel of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering),Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), (UNT Business Services), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Krysta Kaye (substituting for Joe Adamo (CITC Communications)), Troy Bacon (AVP Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Craig Berry (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering, Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Nassos Galiopoulos (substituting for Wil Clark (UNT Dallas)), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Brian Kucharski (substituting for Mike Hatch (College of Business)), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Michael Bagget (substituting for Abraham John (VP Student Development)), Tom McElwee (CITC Micro Maintenance), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy)

Richard Anderson (CITC Information Security), Chris Bennet (ABN LAN Mgmt), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Tom Bunten (HSC Academic Information Services), Kacey Close (College of Visual Arts and Design), Mac Edwards (CITC Helpdesk), Sean Flowers (College of Engineering/GALC), Matt Graham (UNT Libraries), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Student Computing), Dan Kidd ( CITC MMS), Maurice Leatherbury (CITC AVP Comp/CTO), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Susan Pierce (CITC MMS), Lawana Robinson (CITC Operations), Alex Schott (CITC Operations), Garrett Stevens (CITC MMS), Larry Talley (CITC MMSO, Yoke Teo (CITC Network Computing Services), Craig Terrell ( CITC Network Computing Services), Mike Wilhelm (UNT Parking and Police), Yancey Yeargan (CITC Network Computing Services), Jason Zorola (Police and Traffic)


Minutes from July 18, 2008, were approved as written.


Susan Pierce (CITC Micro Maintenance Services) presented a demo of the CITC's implementation of Microsoft's Sharepoint and characterized it as an "Intranet for UNT" named "UNTranet." Several (7) site collections have been created to support different kinds of functions on campus. She demonstrated how it was possible to set up a personal site to organize information and resources and noted that resources can be accessed from Outlook client. She said that training would be available for those interested in creating sites for a department or function and that a Sharepoint Managers User Group (SMUG) was planned. Susan introduced Larry Talley and Garrett Stevens who were recently hired to help manage the Sharepoint implementation.


In response to a question from Tim Christian, Tom McElwee reported that a Microsoft Office Communications Server (OCS) has been implemented and is being tested. Jason Gutierrez reported that OCS is supported on Mac OS. Currently, edge firewall issues are being explored before the service can be released to the UNT community. The first goal is to get audio/video messaging in place. Managers can contact Jason G. if they wish to test OCS. Jason Myre stated clients are available for installation now.

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner reported that Jaws, Magic, and SPSS are now supported via a new license server implementation. Documentation of the new implementation is pending, but the old license server will remain available through December. She stated that she was working on implementing services for SPlus 8 and Eviews 8 but had run into technical difficulties.

Susan Pierce mentioned that several Colleges had requested special configurations on the Dell premier site because orders had not been made to College specifications. Susan agreed to investigate whether special instructions for different Colleges could be posted on the premier site. Philip Baczewski agreed to reconstitute the DCSMT PC standards subcommittee in light of model changes being made by Dell.


No new business was discussed.


Maurice Leatherbury reported that the new EUID creation application programming was almost done and said that testing may begin during the Fall semester.

Craig Berry reported that CVAD was adopting dual-boot Macintosh systems for all of its computer labs.

Craig Terrell reported that CITC was in the process of migrating all its Novell Servers to Windows Server systems.

Nassos Galiopoulos reported that the Dallas campus would be migrating to Windows Server systems on Monday, August 18.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:42 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Sept. 5, 2008

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on August 15, 2008. Send comments to Philip Baczewski