Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

October 17, 2008

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering),Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Krysta Kaye (substituting for Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center)), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Nassos Galiopoulos (substituting for Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas)), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Paul Hons (College of Education), John Leutkemeyer (substituting for Scott Jackson (Libraries)), Dan Kidd (substituting for Tom McElwee (CITC Micro Maint.), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy)

T.J. Adamowicz (CITC Messaging), Rich Anderson (CITC Network Computing Services), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Mac Edwards (CITC Helpdesk), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Daniel Harris (CITC Helpdesk), Maurice Leatherbury (CITC AVP Comp/CTO), Claudia Lynch (CITC Benchmarks), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Craig Terrell (CITC Network Computing Services), Jackie Thames (Col. Pub. Admin. & Comm. Srv.), Larry Tullis (CITC MMS/Sharepoint), Ben Wilkins ( CITC Data Communications), Yancey Yeargan (CITC Network Computing Services)


Minutes from September 19, 2008, were approved as written.

Minutes from October 3, 2008, were approved as written.


Brad Shultz of HP provided an overview of HP's desktop and laptop computer models. Kelly Loy of HP discussed the energy saving features of HP printers.


Philip Baczewski reported on the meeting of the Desktop Standards subcommittee and reviewed the criteria the committee used to form its recommmendation. The next step is for Dan Kidd to get formal quotes on the recommended laptops for consideration by the full DCSMT representation.


Mike Hatch (COB) mentioned recent notifications of changes of preferred e-mail address. Jason Myre noted that the notifications were the result of an error in EIS process which was in the process of being corrected. 2500 users affected as the result of e-mail synchronization processes between the LDAP directory and EIS. Yancey Yeargan reported that updates of preferred e-mail address happen from LDAP to EIS on a nightly basis.

Paul Hons (COE) inquired if any other areas were having trouble with accessing the campus VPN on Mac OS. Other areas reported success in using the campus VPN.


Dan Kidd (CITC MMS) noted that a number of 3-year warranties on Dell desktops would be running out soon after which repairs would require paying for any replacement parts.

Krysta Kaye introduced Ben Wilkins who has joined her team working on the network upgrade project.

Rich Anderson reported for Charlotte Russell that the initial CAMReq training for managers had been conducted successfully, and that Charlotte would be working with UNT HR to train them on their functions in CAMReq.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for November 7, 2008.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on October 17, 2008. Send comments to Philip Baczewski