Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

December 5, 2009

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering),Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (School of Library and Information Science), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Krysta Kaye (substituting for Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center)), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Craig Berry (College of Visual Arts and Design), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business Administration), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Dan Kidd (substituting for Tom McElwee (CITC Micro Maint.), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

T.J. Adamowicz (CITC Messaging), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Mac Edwards (CITC Helpdesk), Nassos Galiopoulos (UNT Dallas), Matt Graham (UNT Libraries), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Mikl Hensarling (CITC ACS), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Student Computing), Claudia Lynch (CITC Benchmarks), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Patrick McLeod (CITC Academic Computing RSS), Ramu Muthiah (Col. Public Admin & Comm Svc), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Bahram Paiani (CITC Network Computing Services), Bruce Pollack (ABN Network Support), Ginny Richards (CITC EIS), Adrian Rollett (CITC Central Web Services), Curry Searle (Col of Art & Sciences), Craig Terrell (CITC Network Computing Services), Jackie Thames (Col. Pub. Admin. & Comm. Srv.), Steve Vocelka (CITC Cumputer Operations), Marques Young (Col of Arts and Sciences CSS)


Minutes from November 7, 2008, were approved as written.


Vonn Miller and Ken Gray of Apple Inc. provided an overview of the recently announced changes in the MacBook line of computers and discussed some of the new technologies included in the new MacBooks. Ken Gray also discussed concepts and software tools used to support Mac OS X client workstation management, including Apple Remote Desktop and the Mac OS X Server.


Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC ACS/US) provided a status update on the move from EagleMail to EagleConnect (Microsoft Live@EDU Exchange Labs) for student e-mail. Since the new student solution is a hosted Exchange system, faculty who are not students will not have an account on the student system and it may be necessary for distributed managers to assist faculty in moving email messages from EagleMail to the UNT Exchange system. She relayed that the launch date for EagleConnect is February 3, 2009.


Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair) inquired to the group whether or not there was interest in virtual desktop implementation. A number of managers indicated their interest and Craig Terrell (CITC Directory Services) stated that his group was exploring virtual desktop solutions and that he would welcome input from managers who were interested in such a service for their area.


Distributed managers discussed the replacement for the recommended Windows desktop computer for campus in light of the fact that the currently recommended model will no longer be produced at the end of January, 2009.

Krysta Kaye (CITC Datacomm) presented an overview of the network upgrade project spring schedule.

Patrick McLeod (CITC ACS/US RSS) announced that CITC had received installation media for SPSS 17 and asked managers if they would like to adopt SPSS 17 as the supported version for the Spring semester or maintain SPSS 15. The consensus of the managers was that they wished to maintain SPSS 15. Patrick indicated that he would have to negotiate with SPSS to acquire an extension to the SPSS 15 license.


No new business was discussed.


Jason Gutierrez reported that he was gathering information regarding the number of UNT-owned Mac OS X systems in anticipation of renewal of the Apple AMP agreement which would allow adoption of Mac OS X version 10.6 when available. He also mentioned that Microsoft OCS on the Web was not working and that the messaging group was working on enabling Live Meeting for campus. He also mentioned that they were working on implementing federated chat in OCS to allow communication with external systems, including the chat function in the EagleConnect student system.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 16, 2009.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on December 5, 2009. Send comments to Philip Baczewski