Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

May 15, 2009

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (Collegel of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Jason McMullen (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Joey Macaraeg (for Mike Hatch, College of Business), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Michael Bagget (for Abraham John, VP Student Development), Paul Hons (College of Education), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences)

Chris Stoermer (Health and Wellness Center), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Student Computing), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Glenn Thorpe (CITC Information Security), Jackie Thames (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Joey Moldonaldo (UNT Libraries), Larry Talley (CITC MMS Sharepoint), Richard Anderson (CITC Information Security), Vasilis Angelogiannos (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.)


Minutes from May 1, 2009, were approved as written.


Rich Anderson (CITC IT Security) discussed the fact that Microsoft SQL Server was one of the most attacked service on the campus network. Past attempts to block the related Internet ports yielded too many people that were dependent on remote access to that application. Usage patterns have changed and the possibility of blocking MS SQL ports at the net border has been reexamined. It was found that 19 servers had MS SQL traffic passing over the border and their system administrators have been contacted and have approved blocking the ports. Ports 1433 and 1444 wil be blocked but the VPN system in production will allow direct access if needed. RIch will provide further information once a schedule has been set for making the change to the network.


Glenn Thorpe (CITC IT Security) was invited to present an overview of the McAfee EPO configuration based on manager's questions from a previous meeting. Glen stated that the unwanted programs policy as set in EPO was not too strict globally, in order to prevent false positive matches. He stated that managers can increase that security for their area via the EPO console. Glenn mentioned that McAfee version 8.0 was announced for end-of-life this December and recommended that the default version in EPO be changed to 8.5 by July. The change will alter all clients when made and that many people inherit the default policies. Glenn stated McAfee version 8.7 will have their "Artemis" feature to catch suspected malware but may catch local custom apps as false positive. Work on supporting laptop disk encryption is underway with a "safeboot" strategy being devised. Password syncing is being examined to make things easier for initial setup of disk encryption.

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner announced that as of Monday, May 18, EagleMail will be shut down. Faculty/Staff EUID top-level alias will reroute to their UNT Exchange address. The euid@unt.edu alias will still route to actively enrolled students. Elizabeth is working on presentation on effectively communicating with students which she intends to present to various groups on campus this Fall.

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner announced that the group to evaluate Faronics Powersave has been formed and individuals will download and test the application before meeting. Early June is targeted for meeting date. She requested that and estimate of the number of machines needing the application be provided by members. She also contacted office of sustainability to gauge their interest in such a product.


No new business was discussed.


Joey Moldonaldo was introduced as a new IT staff member from the UNT Libraries.


The meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for June 5, 2009.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on June 4, 2009. Send comments to Philip Baczewski