Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

September 4, 2009

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (Collegel of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Jason McMullen (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Ben Bigby (College of Music), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Craig Berry (College of Visual Arts and Design), Don McClure (for Chris Strauss, CITC Remedy Administration), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Michael Bagget (for Abraham John, VP Student Development), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Robert Wellman (for Paul Hons, College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Shea Rogers (for Jason McMullen, UNT Business Services), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Tom McElwee (CITC Micro Maintenance), Troy Bacon (AVP Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller)

Antonio Ventorini (CITC MMS), Boris Kurktchiev (College of Arts and Sciences), Chris Stoermer (Student Health and Wellness Center), Christian McHugh (College of Arts and Sciences), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Student Computing), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Garrett Stephens (CITC MMS/Sharepoint), James Martin (ABN LAN Mgmt), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Jennifer Lafleur (CITC Admin/Compliance), Jesse Hamner (CITC Academic Computing), Judy Hunter (UNT Libraries), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Matt Kernan (College of Engineering/CSE), Michael Wilhelmi (UNT Police), Mike McAuliffe (CITC Distance Learning Support), Monty Slayton (CITC Storage Systems), Nassos Galiopoulos (College of Public Affairs and Community Service), Raymond Pillar (College of Arts and Sciences), Ryan Schuette (Office of Sustainability), T. J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), T.J. Miller (CITC Directory Services)


Minutes from July 17, 2009, were approved as written.



    Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner presented the draft report from the DCSMT subcommittee examining power saving software options. Tim Christian asked if additional products had been considered based on Microsoft's software roadmap. Elizabeth stated that since the requirement was for a currently available product, the examination was focused on the three products that had been recommended to the group for evaluation. Nassos Galiopoulos asked if reports from the products would be available to the distributed areas and Elizabeth responded that the distributed areas would be able to receive reports for the power management activity in their areas. Several distributed managers asked that it be noted in the report that the deployment and use of these products would incur administrative costs and that those costs should be factored into determining the potential savings from using the products. The consensus of DCSMT members was that the report was ready to be forwarded as a recommendation from DCSMT to the appropriate members of the UNT administration.


Jason Gutierrez reported for Jason Myre that the CITC Messaging group was working on the implementation of an e-mail archive solution and queried the distributed managers in regard to their current recommendations to their users regarding archiving of e-mail in Outlook, in order to anticipate what kind of usage an archive system might receive.

Jason Gutierrez announced the availability of Snow Leopard installation media to areas participating in the UNT AMP agreement with Apple inc. Mike Hatch queried the Network Managers as to what browser versions they were using and if anyone had deployed IE version 8.


Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner introduced Dr. Jesse Hamner who has been hired by Academic Computing and User Services to develop and manage a Research data visualization lab housed at the UNT Discovery Park.

Tim Christian introduced two new employees in his area, Christian McHugh and Boris Kurktchiev, and announced that CAS Computing Support Services has changed its name to CAS Information Technology Services.

Charlotte Russell announced that Mike Wright had retired as of August 31 and that Jennifer LaFleur would be taking over his software license management responsibilities and that the disaster recovery planning would now be managed by Rich Anderson.

James Martin mentioned that representatives from Ricoh copiers would be on campus on September 15 from 10:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. to demonstrate some of their new copier models, some of which can potentially scan directly into the ImageNow system.

T.J. Adamowicz noted that an upgrade of the University's Blackberry server was planned and said that further information would be forthcoming about the upgrade.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for September 18, 2009.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on September 4, 2009. Send comments to Philip Baczewski