Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

January 15, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Jason McMullen (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Krysta Berry (for Joe Adamo, CITC Communications), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Don McClure (for Chris Strauss, CITC Remedy Administration), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk)

Ray Banks (Universities Center at Dallas), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Academic Computing), T. J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), Yonathan Ko (CITC Helpdesk), John Leutkemeyer (UNT Libraries), Alan Livingston (SLIS GAL Manager), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Joey Maldonado (UNT Libraries), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Garrett Rumohr (UNT Libraries), Chris Stoermer (Student Health and Wellness Center), Steve Vocelka (CITC Computer Operations), Yancey Yeargan (CITC Network Computing Services)


Minutes from November 20, 2009, were approved as written.


Tim Christian (CAS IT Services) reported that CAS ITS was engaged in discussion with Cambridge Computing Services Inc. regarding their storage needs and that in the process they had signed a letter of agreement which applied to all of UNT. Cambridge's business model is to provide recommendations at no charge to the client unless engaged to perform a specific service. Tim recommended that if any areas had concerns about their data storage or backup needs that Cambridge Computing Services would be a resource for information and advice.


Katy Gallahan (ABN) announced that the next SCCM interest group meeting would be on January 22. The aims of the SCCM group are to share information, collaborate via a Sharepoint site, and investigate the best design and deployment of SCCM for UNT. Philip Baczewski asked the group to provide a recommendation regarding adoption of the Microsoft Desktop Optimization Pack (MDOP.)

Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair) asked if there was any action regard the energy management software as recommended by DCSMT. Charlie Brien stated that the energy management contract had yet to be implemented.

Krysta Berry announced that data switch upgrades had been completed for the Administration building, the ISB, Chilton Hall, and the GAB. Matthews Hall is scheduled for a data switch upgrade on "Spring Day".

Managers discussed the availability of Windows 7 versions and new versions of Adobe software under our current site contracts. Philip Baczewski stated he would pursue getting additional information for managers in this regard.

Philip Baczewski noted that Abraham John had been hired as a CITC Director to manage the consolidated administrative desktop support areas.


Jason Myre (CITC Messaging) announced that his group was in week 2 of a pilot project to support migration of UNT Health Sciences Center staff e-mail accounts from Groupwise to UNT's Exchange system. A pair of mailbox servers have been added to support the additional users at UNT HSC. The address format for HSC users will be firstname.lastname@unthsc.unt.edu. Jason also reported that the test and implementation of MS Exchange Unified Messaging was going well.

Larry Talley (CITC Sharepoint Services) reported that the only students allowed access to Sharepoint are student employees. Larry also announced that forms in Sharepoint could now be populated based on LDAP data. Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner pointed out that a hosted Sharepoint-type service is available to students via their EagleConnect account.


Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities) reported that they were migrating servers to the CITC's VM farm.

Gabe Marshall invited distributed manager's feedback regarding their experiences with the latest version of McAfee's virus protection software.

Michael Bagget noted that he had accepted an IT management position in the College of Visual Arts and Design.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:12 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 5, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on January 15, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski