Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

February 19, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (Collegel of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Krysta Berry (for Joe Adamo, CITC Communications), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Daniel Duncan (for Mike Hatch, College of Business), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Paul Hons (College of Education), Dan Kidd (for Tom McElwee, CITC Micro Maintenance), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Alan Livingston (for Gary Mathews, College of Information), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

T.J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), Richard Anderson (CITC Information Security), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Tom Bunten (HSC Academic Information Services), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Randy Evans (Texas Academy of Math/Science), Nassos Galiopoulos (College of Public Affairs and Community Service), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Jennifer Lafleur (CITC Admin/Compliance), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Charlotte Russell (CITC Admin/Compliance), Curry Searle (CITC ACUS), Craig Terrell (CITC Network Computing Services), Jackie Thames (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.)


Minutes from February 5, 2010, were approved as written.


Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC ACUS) led a discussion regarding the desirability to standardize part-time IT job classifications and asked if there was interest in exchanging information on student IT positions. Distributed managers expressed interest in such an exchange and suggested involvement of organizations such as the student career center in the exchange of information. Elizabeth agreed to gather the information for a future report.


Philip Baczewski (CITC ACUS) discussed the Remedy ITSM SLA targets as currently defined in the call tracking system and asked managers if the severity definitions and associated targets were still appropriate. Managers indicated that they were satisfied with the current definitions. Philip asked that managers send any comments or suggestions directly to him.

Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences) asked about the status of the MDOP evaluation and was reminded that the SCCM working group was examining that product and Curry Searle reported progress in setting up a demo environment. Tim also asked to follow up regarding software assurance and UNT's contract for Microsoft Software. Jennifer Lafleur (CITC Admin and Compliance) assured Tim that assurance was in place.


No new business was discussed.


No area reports were given.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 5, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on February 19, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski