Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

March 5, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (Computing and IT Center), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Craig Berry (Collegel of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (VP Student Development), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Tom McElwee (Micro Maint/Class Supt Serv), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (Computing and IT Center), Chris Strauss (Computing and IT Center), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Troy Bacon (AVP Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Mac Edwards (for Richard Sanzone, CITC Helpdesk), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Joey Macaraeg (for Mike Hatch, College of Business), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Raymond Pillar (for Tim Christian, College of Arts and Sciences), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration), Brenda Yu (for Paul Hons, College of Education), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

T.J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Tom Bunten (HSC Academic Information Services), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Academic Computing), Jennifer Lafleur (CITC Admin/Compliance), Alan Livingston (SLIS GAL Manager), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), T.J. Miller (CITC Directory Services), Curry Searle (CITC ACUS), Chris Stoermer (Student Health and Wellness Center), Jackie Thames (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.)


Minutes from February 19, 2009, were approved as written.


Curry Searle reporting on the activities of the SCCM working group stated that permissions models were being developed for a central SCCM server and that T.J. Miller was doing initial tests on the implementation. He also reported that several of the MDOP applications were being tested by areas having an interest in their use.

Katy Gallahan mentioned the notice of the Dell Optiplex 980 desktop and asked if a review of the new line of Dell desktops was planed. Philip Baczewski agreed to schedule Dell representatives to provide and overview of the desktop and laptop computer lines preferably for the April 16 meeting of DCSMT.

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner continued to solicit part-time IT job information from distributed managers for summary and presentation at a later meeting.

T.J. Miller announced that some groups were set up and ready for testing on the SCCM server and that the AD Mac OS schema extension were being prepared for application to UNT's AD implementation.

Jennifer LaFleur agreed to schedule a licensing specialist from Microsoft to brief the distributed managers on our license holdings.


No new business was discussed.


Ray Pillar announced that College of Arts and Sciences was investigating using virtual desktop technology to support their labs.

Tom Bunten noted that the Health Science Center in Fort Worth was on their way to eliminating Novell and Groupwise on their campus by sharing Exchange and AD services with UNT.


The meeting was adjourned at 10:31 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for April 2, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on April 2, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski