Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

April 16, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Troy Bacon (AVP Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Daniel Duncan (for Mike Hatch, College of Business), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Paul Hons (College of Education), Deke Isaac (CITC Micro Maintenance), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

Krysta Berry (CITC Data Communications), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Randy Evans (Texas Academy of Math/Science), David Franklin (CITC Operations), T. J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), Jennifer Lafleur (CITC Admin/Compliance), Alan Livingston (SLIS GAL Manager), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Garrett Stephens (CITC MMS/Sharepoint), Chris Stoermer (Student Health and Wellness Center), Paul Stroufe (College of Engineering), Glenn Thorpe (CITC Information Security), Jason Zorola (UNT Police)


Minutes from April 2, 2010, were approved as written.


John Forshay and Mark McClung from Dell were on hand to provide an overview of Dell's Desktop and Laptop product line as it applies to UNT's recommended standards. John provided an overview of the Latitude family of laptops and the Optiplex family of desktop computers. Distributed managers agreed to discuss and finalize adoption of new recommended platforms at the May 7 meeting.


No old business was discussed.


No new business was discussed.


Chris Stoermer (Health and Wellness Center) reported that his area had adopted NTLM version 2 after making updates to some printers which previously had required NTLM V.1.

Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences) reported that CAS ITS was pursuing a proof of concept for virtualization of desktop computers.

Daniel Duncan (College of Business) reported that COB was now making lab applications available to students via desktop virtualization.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:12 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for May 7, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on April 16, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski