Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

June 18, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Nassos Galiopoulos (for Chu Chuah, Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Paul Hons (College of Education), Joey Maldonado (for Abraham John, VP Student Development), Don McClure (for Chris Strauss, CITC Remedy Administration), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

Tom Bunten (HSC Academic Information Services), Randy Evans (Texas Academy of Math/Science), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), T. J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), Dan Kidd (CITC Sharepoint), Alan Livingston (SLIS GAL Manager), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Curry Searle (CITC ACUS), Paul Sroufe (College of Engineering), Jackie Thames (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Steve Vocelka (CITC Computer Operations)


Minutes from June 4, 2010, were approved as written.


Jason Gutierrez (CITC Messaging) presented and demonstrated UNT's implementation of LiveMeeting running on Microsoft Office Communication Server 2007. Messaging staff have also implemented a personal call bridge that can be accessed by UNT employees at webchat.unt.edu/dialin. To register on the call bridge, users must have a valid individual UNT phone number.


Philip Baczewski (CITC ACSUS) gave an update regarding Faronics products and relayed that the Faronics representative sent notice of the pending release of Deep Freeze Version 7. The new version will make it easier to install power save and Deep Freeze under the control of one console version. Faronics may be offering face to face or webinar training on the new versions. Managers expressed interest in the training and Philip will follow up to see if training can be scheduled for UNT managers.


Tim Christian announced that College of Arts and Sciences was pursuing a proof of concept for virtual desktop technology and that they would welcome other managers at product demonstrations and would appreciate any feedback managers might have. Activity on the project was slated for the end of July.


No area reports were given.


After a poll of the room, it was decided to forgo the July 2 meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 10:59 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for July 16, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on June 18, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski