Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

September 3, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Paul Hons (College of Education), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration)

T. J. Adamowicz (CITC Network Computing Services), Kory Booth (CITC Operations), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Nassos Galiopoulos (College of Public Affairs and Community Service), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Academic Computing & User Services), Yonathan Khoe (ACUS GAL), Alan Livingston (SLIS GAL Manager), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Bahram Paiani (CITC Network Computing Services), Kelley Reese (URCM), Curry Searle (CITC ACUS), Gary Snow (CITC Distance Learning Support), Larry Talley (CITC Sharepoint), Yoke Teo (CITC Network Computing Services), Jackie Thames (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Michael Wilhelmi (UNT Police)


Minutes from August 6, 2010, were approved as written.


  • Inhouse "Home Page" Feedback

    Kelley Reese from URCM was on hand to receive feedback from the distributed managers regarding the rollout of the new inHouse home page. Managers reported no problems with the new site and that feedback was generally positive. Claudia Lynch noted that earlier inHouse articles were no longer accessible. Kelley stated that the articles might be made available on an archive site possibly with the help of the UNT Libraries.

  • Deployment of Powersave

    Charlie Brien of UNT Facilities reported that as part of UNT's energy management contract, Schneider Electric is purchasing Faronics PowerSave product for UNT as owner, and UNT will implement the software on desktop PCs. The software will allow UNT to report and document where and what amount of energy is saved. Charlie stated that deployment works like the McAfee agent and that individual areas can control aspects specific to their area. Client PCs will report to core server and can be managed remotely. (Macs cannot be managed remotely.) Charlie indicated that he will be visiting with departments using other power save programs to avoid duplication and to coordinate integration and reporting.

    Charlie described the following timeline for implementation of PowerSave:

    • August 2010 - October 2010: Infrastructure built.
    • October 2010 - December 2010: System testing, documentation.
    • December 2010 - May 2011: University wide implementation.

    Charlie described the process which would first collect power statistics such as models, monitors, locations, and then obtain actual power usage. Communication will be exchanged about standard profiles, and individual scenarios and a Sharepoint site with that information will also be made available.


No new business was discussed.


Jason Myre reported that the messaging team was working on an upgrade to Exchange 2010 including expanding the mailbox quota to 1G. Jason reported that there were now 12,500 users (UNT & SYSTEM) in Exchange. Jason anticipated a Fall 2010 implementation. It was discussed that no client upgrade would immediately be required.

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner reported that she was working with T.J. Miller on upgrading the Softrack server.

Larry Talley noted the pending upgrade to Sharepoint 2010 and offered to preview any sites in the new version.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:21 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for September 17, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on September 3, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski