Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

December 3, 2010

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), John Berra (Registrar), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Charlie Brien (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Chu Chuah (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

Neil Brown (Lenovo, Inc.), Felix Courtney (Lenovo, Inc.), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Randy Evans (Texas Academy of Math/Science), Jeffrey Fisher (Lenovo, inc.), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Academic Computing), Bart Leudemann (CITC Operations), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Gary Snow (CITC Sharepoint), Larry Talley (CITC Sharepoint)


Minutes from November 5, 2010, were approved as written.


Jeff Fisher of Lenovo provided background about the company since it acquired IBM's desktop and laptop computer business. He introduced Neil Brown who is UNT's marketing representative and Felix Courtney, a sales engineer, who gave a presentation on Lenovo's Think Centre desktop line and ThinkPad laptop line of computers.


No old business was discussed.


No new business was discussed.


Roy Zumwalt (TAMS) announced that Randy Evans has been hired into a full-time position and will have the role of Alumni Relations Associate, as well as assisting with IT management for TAMS

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC ACUS) annoucend that Jaws 12 is available for inclusion in OS images for the Spring semester.

Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, CITC) announced that ACUS had received all pending license updates for SAS and SPSS and noted that only 50 individual licenses were maintained for SPSS for Mac OS. SPSS version 19 would be supported for new installations of SPSS for Mac. He also reminded the distributed managers that they should be adopting SAS 9.2. Larry Talley (CITC Sharepoint) asked if Visio was included in our Microsoft campus license. The concensus opinion was that it is not, and the recommendation was to contact Allen Bradley for any questions regarding campus site licenses.

Larry Talley (CITC Sharepoint) introduced Gary Snow and announced that he has moved from the Distributed Learning Systems team to the Sharepoint team within the CITC.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:21 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for December 17, 2010.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on December 3, 2010. Send comments to Philip Baczewski