Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

June 3, 2011

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Pat Nolen (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Craig Berry (for Michael Bagget, College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Pat Nolan (UNT Facilities), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration), James Strawn (for Tim Christian, College of Arts and Sciences)

Allen Bradley (CITC Administration and Compliance), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Jason Gutierrez (CITC Network Computing Services), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Academic Computing), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Gabe Marshall (CITC Security), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Jason Myre (CITC Messaging), Bahram Paiani (CITC Network Computing Services), Larry Talley (CITC Sharepoint), Steve Vocelka (CITC Computer Operations), Michael White (ABN LAN Mgmt), Yancey Yeargan (CITC Network Computing Services)


Minutes from May 20, 2011, were approved as written.


Allen Bradley (CITC Administration and Compliance) told the managers that part of his responsibilities as business manager is CITC contracts and analytics. Since Jennifer LaFleur retired, he has taken over Adobe and Microsoft licensing agreements. And has created a new SharePoint site for inventory, renewal, and creation of new agreements. The new site will ensure that all info is collected and together, entered into IDO form to be used for the software purchase. It was suggested that the site be populated with a pull-down list of the available software to avoid multiple descriptions of the same product.


The question was raised as to the cost of Microsoft VDE licensing for smaller units (such as a college) rather than Enterprise licensing. Allen Bradley promised to research the issue and report back.

Philip Baczewski called manager's attention to the new recommended configurations on the Dell Premier site and noted that the older models would be removed from the standard set.

Philip Baczewski noted that the SPSS Virtual Computer Lab rider had an additional expense and asked managers if they anticipated needing to provide SPSS via a VDI solution. College of Business was the only area expressing a need for VDI


No new business was discussed.


Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner noted that areas running both SPSS/AMOS and Jaws/Magic need to contact Patrick McLeod for special instructions about configuring the license server connection. CAS and PACS reported problems connecting to the Softrack server. Elizabeth said she would investigate.

Jason Myre announced a reorganization in his area, Enterprise Collaboration Services, with Yancey Yeargan managing the Directory Services group, Jason Gutierrez managing the Messaging group, Adam Jensen managing Central Web Services, and Nassos Galiopoulos managing the Untranet/Sharepoint group.

Adam Jensen announced that CWS was trying to migrate off of the Cold Fusion servers by Sept. 1, 2011. He said that there are 60-80 applications that are still running on Cold Fusion and that they no longer have the staff to maintain that system as well as their other responsibilities.

Jason Gutierrez reported that all departments should be moved to Exchange 2010 by August. Issue connecting to IMAP via Thunderbird have been resolved.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for June 17, 2011.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on June 3, 2011. Send comments to Philip Baczewski