Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

July 1, 2011

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Pat Nolen (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Chu Chuah (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Vasilis Angelogiannos (for Ramu Muthiah, Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Kacey Close (for Michael Bagget, College of Visual Arts and Design), Paul Hons (College of Education), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Joey Macaraeg (for Mike Hatch, College of Business), James Martin (for Katy Gallahan, ABN Lan Mgmt), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration)

Ray Banks (ABN Support), Allen Bradley (CITC Network Computing Services), Randy Evans (Texas Academy of Math/Science), Joey Macaraeg (College of Business), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Jason McMullen (CITC AITS), Lorenzo Robles (College of Arts and Sciences), Curry Searle (CITC ACUS)


Minutes from June 17, 2011, were approved as written.


Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair) demonstrated creation of a support ticket in ITSM 7.6 and discussed some similarities to and differences with the current ITSM 7 system. He noted that all required fields now are presented within the default entry page. Discussion ensued regarding the importance of including the "Severity" selection to set impact and urgency values. The consensus was that the severity field was important enough to display on the ticket creation page. The process acceptance testing of the new version will continue with a possible adoption target in early August. Distributed support staff were encouraged to create tickets in the new system and test any features they regularly use.


Jason McMullen (CITC AITS) provided an update on the Faronics PowerSave implementation. He reported that implementation was occurring on two hardware database servers and four virtual application servers. Jason reported that each department will be able to control their own power management policies. Jason is working on a security scheme for distributed access to the PowerSave console.


No new business was discussed.


No area reports were given.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:35 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for July 15, 2011.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on July 1, 2011. Send comments to Philip Baczewski