Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

November 4, 2011

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Pat Nolen (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Vasilis Angelogiannos (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Krysta Berry (for Joe Adamo, CITC Communications), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Krejci (for Ben Bigby, College of Music, and GALMAC), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Joey Macaraeg (for Mike Hatch, College of Business), Pat Nolan (UNT Facilities), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Kris Selby (for Vasilis Angelogiannos, Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration)

Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Claudia Lynch (CITC Academic Computing), Garrett Rumohr (UNT Libraries), Ryan Shanley (College of Public Affairs and Community Service)


Minutes from October 7, 2011, were approved as written.


Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair) related a process involving all UNT System IT Directors to determine the division of services in relation to the IT Shared Services Initiative under way at the UNT System level. These discussions included consideration of Call Tracking systems and Help Desk support. It was determined that while Help Desk operations at the various system components was best provided as a local service, there is an opportunity to standardize on a single call tracking system for use by all IT support at all campuses.

There are currently three different call tracking systems in use at the various UNT System campuses, so a task force is being formed to decide upon a single system to be shared. The task force will be made up of IT support staff representing diverse IT services at all levels of the organizations and will involve academic and business customers of IT as well. Preference will be given to products which provide a set of functionality to support at least "ITIL Lite" (incident management, problem management, change management, service desk, and a flat CMDB - combining information to link services, assets & people.) The task force will work towards a summer implementation, if possible.


Tim Christian asked about implementation of PaperCut as discussed at the last DCSMT meeting. Philip Baczewski reported that the Office of Sustainability was still gathering information regarding printing monitoring and controls and had promised to report back to DCSMT with more specific information in the future.


Krysta Berry presented an upgrade scheduled for building distribution switches to begin in December with Sage Hall and continuing in the Spring with several other UNT buildings being targeted for upgrade.


No area reports were given.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for December 2, 2011.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on November 4, 2011. Send comments to Philip Baczewski