Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

December 2, 2011

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (CITC Communications Services), Troy Bacon (AVP Finance and Business Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair, Director of Academic Computing, Computing and IT Center), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (University Union), Pat Nolen (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Vasilis Angelogiannos (College of Public Administration and Community Service), Wil Clark (UNT System Center @ Dallas), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (CITC Administrative Desktop Support), Brenda Kirk (CITC PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Deke Isaac (Micro Maint), Shea Rogers (Business Services), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Call Tracking Services), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math and Science)

Members Present
Vasilis Angelogiannos (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (CITC)), Krysta Berry (for Joe Adamo, CITC Communications), Ginger Boone (University Union), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Katy Gallahan (ABN Lan Mgmt), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Scott Krejci (for Ben Bigby, College of Music and GALMAC Chair), John Leutkemeyer (for Scott Jackson, Libraries), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Pat Nolan (UNT Facilities), Lorenzo Robles (for Tim Christian, College of Arts and Sciences), Richard Sanzone (CITC Helpdesk), Chris Strauss (CITC Remedy Administration), Robert Wellman (for Paul Hons, College of Education)

Richard Anderson (CITC Information Security), Rachel Burlage (CITC Administration and Compliance), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (CITC Academic Computing), JoAnn Luksich (CITC Data Management), Don McClure (CITC Remedy), Charlotte Russell (CITC Admin/Compliance), Chris Stoermer (Student Health and Wellness Center)


Minutes from November 4, 2011, were approved as written.


DCSMT Chair Philip Baczewski presented a charge received from the Information Technology Council (ITC) requesting that DCSMT gather information on thrid-party, consumer-based services that may be of use to or in use by UNT faculty and staff. The ITC specifically has asked that DCSMT

  1. subjectively identify some (at most, eight) third party (or "cloud"), consumer-based solutions that may prove useful,
  2. note any particular value (e.g., use case),
  3. prioritize the list, and
  4. optionally recommend how we may mitigate risk and/or realize benefit.
Discussion amongst managers present identified DropBox as one particular utility that is gaining popularity, but is not compliant with FERPA and HIPAA standards and may require accepting a terms of use that has not been approved by UNT. A significant policy statement regarding use of online consumer applications as well as education of end users on security issues were suggested as next steps to address this issue. It was also pointed out that faculty and staff do not always know what resources are already available, such as PBWorks for wikis or Qualtrics for online surveys. Having a catalog of such resources would discourage use of non-sanctioned online services. The discussion of this issue was tabled for the current meeting and the Chair promised to report the discussion back to the ITC and seek further clarification regarding the charge.


No old business was discussed.


Mike Hatch (College of Business) noted that the campus was about to move to BlackBoard Learn as the supported CMS platform in the Spring, but that managers had not yet received any technical information about supporting this new version. It was suggested that a representative from CLEAR present an overview for managers at the next DCSMT meeting. Philip Baczewsk promised to make this an agenda item for the December 16 meeting.

Jason Myre (ITSS Collaboration Services) noted that the Messaging team is implementing SPF to prevent spoofing of e-mail through UNT hosts. It requires that any e-mail using addresses with the unt.edu domain originate from within the UNT network or via an authenticated connection to UNT's mail host. He also noted that efforts were underway to host Microsoft's IT Academy training at UNT.


It was announced that Katy Gallahan has accepted a position within UNT System IT Shared Services to manage desktop support services for System offices as well as the UNT Dallas campus. Bruce Pollock, Chris Bennet, Brenda Kirk and her staff will be joining Katie in this newly-formed group.

Mike Hatch invited managers to come for a tour of the new Business Leadership Building if they had yet to see the building.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:32 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for December 16, 2011.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on December 2, 2011. Send comments to Philip Baczewski