Distributed Computing Support
Management Team

Meeting Minutes

May 4, 2012

Meeting Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Place: Chilton Hall, Room 245

Joe Adamo (ITSS Communications), Vasilis Angelogiannos (Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Troy Bacon (Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (UIT)), Michael Bagget (College of Visual Arts and Design), Ben Bigby (College of Music), Ginger Boone (UNT Facilities), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Tim Christian (College of Arts and Sciences), Katy Gallahan (ITSS CTSS), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), Deke Isaac (UNT Micro Maintenance), Scott Jackson (Libraries), Abraham John (UIT AITS), Brenda Kirk (ITSS PC/Lan Support), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Pat Nolan (UNT Athletics), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Richard Sanzone (UIT Helpdesk), Chris Stoermer (ABN Lan Mgmt), Chris Strauss (ITSS Remedy Administration), Michael White (UNT Dallas), Roy Zumwalt (Texas Academy of Math/Science)

Members Present
Troy Bacon (Fin/Bus Affairs and Controller), Philip Baczewski (DCSMT Chair (UIT)), Jim Byford (College of Engineering), Chu Chuah (for Vasilis Angelogiannos, Col. Of Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Katy Gallahan (ITSS CTSS), Mike Hatch (College of Business), Paul Hons (College of Education), John Leutkemeyer (for Abraham John, UIT AITS), Gary Mathews (College of Information), Raymond Pillar (for Tim Christian, College of Arts and Sciences), Shea Rogers (UNT Business Services), Chris Stoermer (ABN Lan Mgmt), Chris Strauss (ITSS Remedy Administration)

Allen Bradley (ITSS Network Computing Services), Tom Delozier (ITSS Network Computing Services), Tom Dent (Adobe), Mac Edwards (Computing and IT Center), Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (UIT Academic Computing), Yonathan Khoe (ACUS GAL), Alan Livingston (SLIS GAL Manager), JoAnn Luksich (UIT Data Management), Claudia Lynch (UIT ACUS), Joey Macaraeg (College of Business), Joey Maldonado (UNT Libraries), Don McClure (ITSS Remedy Administration), Jody Rogers (Adobe), Curry Searle (UIT ACUS), Jackie Thames (Col. Public Admin & Comm. Svc.), Scott Trudeau (Adobe), Yancey Yeargan (ITSS Network Computing Services)


Minutes from April 20, 2012, were approved as written.


Tom Dent and Scott Trudeau (via Webex) were on hand from Adobe to discuss deployment techniques for Adobe software. Jody Rogers from Adobe later joined the meeting via teleconference. They discussed several deployment tools and referred managers to the http://www.adobe.com/products/creativesuite/it.html web site. Problems with deploying only Acrobat as well as the lack of an installation progress bar or other feedback were noted by managers. Jody explained that an Acrobat installation from the Master Collection requires installation of at least one other product. He had not immediate solution for the lack of installation feedback. Adobe staff invited continued feedback from distributed managers and promised to provide links to additional information regarding tools available to IT support staff.


Mac Edwards noted that Microsoft had dropped the default space available with its Skydrive service has been decreased to 7 Gigabytes as of April 23. Accounts that were in existence before April 23 have the option to restore the 25G of space as a free upgrade. New accounts will be limited to 7G. Skydrive is a component of the UNT student e-mail and collaboration service referred to as EagleConnect.


Philip Baczewski provided a brief update on the evaluation of cloud storage services and noted that the ad hoc committee would be gathering usage case information from UNT users of cloud storage services.


No new business was discussed.


No area reports were given.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:02 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for May 18, 2012.

Return to Distributed Computing Support Management Team Home Page.

Page last modified on May 4, 2012. Send comments to Philip Baczewski