About the UNT Police Department

Organizationally, the UNT Police Department serves the campus community as a part of a larger division comprised of three units: UNT Police, Parking, and Transportation. Within the division, the UNT Police Department consists of 8 functional units with approximately 80 employees, including officers, students assistants, dispatchers, and administrators. The department has jurisdiction within the UNT campus, the city of Denton, and any county where UNT maintains property. Our 44 sworn police officers are state certified and enforce all city, state, and federal laws, as well as university policies.

The University of North Texas Police Department is a nationally accredited agency by both the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies and the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators. UNT officers are commissioned as peace officers under Texas Education Code 51.203 and are certified police officers under the requirements of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE).

Police, Parking, & Transportation Organizational Chart

Click chart for a full-sized version.

Organizational Chart