# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #

Did you know?

UNT students have earned
more than $1 million in prestigious
national scholarships.

<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | August 2007 Issue | Exes name Derrick Morgan new executive director

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

Exes name Derrick Morgan new executive director

From InHouse, UNT's faculty and staff news source

Derrick Morgan

Derrick Morgan

Derrick Morgan was named executive director of the UNT alumni association, the North Texas Exes, says Phil Glauben, president of the association's board of directors.

Morgan, who formerly served as executive director of the San Jose State University Alumni Association, joined UNT earlier this month. Morgan also has been marketing director and membership director of the alumni association at Texas Tech University. He received a bachelor's degree in marketing from Texas Tech.

Morgan was responsible for operations, personnel and financial aspects of the San Jose State organization, a 501(c)(3) non-profit in San Jose, Calif. San Jose State is a 150-year-old public university located in Silicon Valley.

"SJSU is amazingly similar in demographics to UNT, with 200,000 known alumni, 30,000 enrollment, with an alumni association staff of five," Glauben says.

Morgan has "provided financial stability and growth to the association, and most importantly, he has a positive, can-do attitude," Glauben says. "We're looking forward to having him here."

During Morgan's tenure, membership at San Jose State's association has grown to 11,000; UNT's goal is to grow to 12,500 association members by 2012.

North Texas Exes is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization governed by a volunteer board of directors. The association has about 6,000 members and awards about 45 scholarships each year. The association is open to all former students, graduates and friends of UNT.

The North Texas Exes board approved a five-year strategic plan for 2006-11 (PDF). The plan's goals include building membership, positioning the association as a preferred organization, increasing financial support and promoting UNT.

The search committee chair was association president-elect Steve Brodbeck. Other search committee members included association board members Sandi Stevens, Sylvia Hartman and Mike Friedman; Ann Abbe, associate vice president for the Office of Development; Peggy Green, director of marketing and communications for the College of Business Administration, and alumnus and political consultant Tom Hockaday.

Read other stories in this issue:

August 2007

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider, a monthly e-newsletter, connects UNT alumni and others to the university by letting you hear directly from President Gretchen M. Bataille.

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.