# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #

Did you know?

UNT's Emerald Eagle Scholars program has helped about
1,800 students pursue their degrees. Only three years into
the program, 13 scholars have graduated. To support scholars,
join us Feb. 19, 2011, for the Emerald Ball Goes Gatsby.

<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | August 2010 Issue | Angela Wilson named a Fellow of the American Chemical Society

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

Angela Wilson named a Fellow of the American Chemical Society

From a UNT News Service press release

Angela Wilson

Angela Wilson

Angela Wilson, professor of chemistry and co-director of UNT's Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling, has been named to the 2010 Class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society.

Wilson was among 192 distinguished scientists honored at the ACS Fall National Meeting.

ACS is a nonprofit membership organization with more than 161,000 professionals from diverse fields of chemistry, and is the world’s largest science society. The Fellows program recognizes ACS members for their outstanding achievements in science and service to ACS.

Wilson, who joined UNT in 2000, developed and leads the chemistry department's National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates internship program, which is now in its seventh year. She serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Physical Chemistry.

Additionally, Wilson has earned the 2009 Toulouse Scholar Award and the 2009 Research-Scholars Award from UNT and she was the first UNT faculty member to be honored with a NSF CAREER Award, which supports early career development activities of educators who effectively integrate research and education within the context of the missions of their organization. Other UNT NSF CAREER Award winners include:

  • Pam Padilla, associate professor of biology;
  • Rada Mihalcea, associate professor of computer science and engineering;
  • Srinivasan Srivilliputhur, assistant professor of materials science and engineering, and
  • Mohammed Omary, professor of chemistry.

Wilson also is a National Associate of the National Academies, the U.S. chair of the 2006 Chinese-American Frontiers of Science Program, a National Councilor American Chemical Society. She won the Wiley International Journal of Quantum Chemistry Young Investigator Award.

Wilson joins fellow chemistry faculty member, Wes Borden, the Robert A. Welch Professor of Chemistry, who was inducted into the inaugural group of ACS Fellows in 2009.

Elizabeth Smith with UNT News Service can be reached at elizabeth.smith@unt.edu.

Read other stories in this issue:

August 2010

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.