University of North Texas

UNT Insider | Special Announcement

Subscribe  Unsubscribe  

Special Announcement: President-Elect Neal Smatresk will start his tenure Feb. 3, 2014

Dr. Neal Smatresk

Dr. Neal Smatresk

Dear UNT friend,

It is an incredible privilege to be selected as the next President of the University of North Texas. I want to thank the UNT System Board of Regents, Chancellor Lee Jackson and the Presidential Search Advisory Committee for this opportunity. I also want to join you in thanking President V. Lane Rawlins for his leadership during the past few years. He has done a wonderful job and leaves behind a solid foundation for building UNT's future.

My wife, Debbie, and I are excited about returning to Texas and becoming members of the UNT community on Feb. 3, 2014. In the interim, I will be busy working with the President's Cabinet and others on getting to know as much about UNT as I can.

I met many key campus leaders and the UNT Foundation Board today to begin conversations on how we can continue to improve services, enhance our reputation, build research strength, and serve our communities. After I get settled, I look forward to meeting with alumni, friends, and business and community leaders to help us chart our future together. Your insight on how UNT can provide lifelong value and best serve the greater community will be essential to our continued momentum.

UNT is a strong and thriving institution. We hope to build our reputation as an emerging nationally prominent research institution and ensure that the good initiatives launched by past administrations continue to flourish. With additional input from our community, we will chart a course for how our great university can best serve Denton and the greater North Texas region.

My wife and I look forward to getting to know you, and until then we wish you all the best this holiday season.

Neal Smatresk
University of North Texas

The UNT System Board of Regents voted today to approve Dr. Neal Smatresk's appointment as UNT's 16th president. President-Elect Smatresk will officially start his tenure Feb. 3, 2014. President V. Lane Rawlins' tenure will continue until Feb. 2, 2014. Upon his retirement, Dr. Rawlins will serve as President Emeritus of UNT, working on special projects to help the university to continue its progress in key areas.

Read the official news release about Smatresk's appointment in The North Texan.

December 2013

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to