# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #
<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | June 2011 issue | Kinesiology professor named 2011-2012 Alliance Scholar

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

Kinesiology professor named 2011-2012 Alliance Scholar

From a UNT News Service press release

James Morrow

James Morrow, Regents Professor of kinesiology, has been named the 2011-2012 Alliance Scholar by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

Scholars are chosen annually as a national recognition signifying excellence in research and contributions to the field of kinesiology.

Morrow, who has been a member of UNT's College of Education faculty since 1993, focuses his research on the measurement and assessment of physical activity in children, youth and adults, and in finding solutions to problems related to the validity of self-measurement tools available to gauge physical activity. Morrow also has worked to provide researchers and practitioners with accurate and reliable physical activity assessment tools.

Jerry Thomas, dean of the College of Education, says the honor brings great visibility to UNT and the Department of Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation.

"Alliance Scholar is the top recognition for a lifetime record of research in the field of kinesiology," Thomas says. "Morrow is widely acknowledged as the top active scholar in the area of measurement of physical fitness and physical activity."

As part of the Alliance Scholar recognition, Morrow will travel the world to lecture on his field of research and will present the Alliance Scholar Lecture at the 2012 AAHPERD Convention in Boston.

Leslie Wimmer with UNT News Service can be reached at Leslie.Wimmer@unt.edu.

Read other stories in this issue:

June 2011

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.