# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #

Did you know?

As part of our We Mean Green
environmental campaign, UNT now will publish
class schedules only online saving paper and ink.

<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | March 2009 Issue | Faculty Focus

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

UNT faculty member receives Distinguished Scholar Award from Broadcast Education Association

From a UNT News Service press release

Alan B. Albarran

Alan B. Albarran

Alan B. Albarran, professor of radio, television and film at UNT, received the 2009 Distinguished Scholar Award from the Broadcast Education Association, the professional organization for faculty members, industry professionals and graduate students who are interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises.

Established in 1955 as the Association for Professional Broadcast Education, the BEA has more than 1,600 individual members and approximately 275 university departments and schools as institutional members. The association's Distinguished Scholar Award, given annually to at least one person, recognizes significant contributions to research and scholarship involving broadcast and electronic media. Albarran is the only recipient of this year's award, which will be presented to him April 23 during the BEA's annual meeting.

Recipients of the Distinguished Scholar Awards must have published numerous books and articles for at least 20 years. Albarran is the author or editor of nine books, including The Handbook of Spanish Language Media, which will be published this summer. In 2006, he received the Robert G. Picard Book Award by the Media Management and Economics Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication for The Handbook of Media Management and Economics, another one of his books. Albarran is currently writing a 10th book, The Media Economy.

A former Fulbright senior scholar, he has given workshops and lectures in 14 different nations and served as the editor of both, The International Journal on Media Management and The Journal of Media Economics.

Albarran was the president of both BEA and the Texas Association of Broadcast Educators. He received the Journal of Media Economics Award of Honor in 2008, a lifetime achievement award recognizing scholarly contributions to the field of media economics. He was also awarded the Barry Sherman Teaching Award from the Media Management and Economics Division of the Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

Albarran joined the UNT faculty in August 2000 after teaching at Southern Methodist University and Sam Houston State University. He served as chair of the UNT Department of Radio, Television and Film until August 2007. In 2006, he became the first director of the Center for Spanish Language Media. The center was established as one of the first comprehensive training and research programs to meet the growing demand for Spanish-speaking media professionals throughout Texas and the United States.

Albarran received his bachelor's and master's degrees from Marshall University and his doctoral degree from Ohio State University.

Nancy Kolsti with UNT News Service can be reached at nkolsti@unt.edu.

Read other stories in this issue:

March 2009

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider,
a monthly
e-newsletter, connects UNT alumni and others to the university by letting you hear directly from President Gretchen M. Bataille.

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.