# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #
<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | March 2011 issue | Two recent graduates win Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarships

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

Two recent graduates win Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarships

From a UNT News Service press release

T. Lane Ingram and Juan Oliveros Facio — two recent graduates — have won 2011-12 Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarships to study abroad for a year and engage in global public service.

Ingram, who graduated from UNT in 2010 with a M.Ed. in counseling, will travel to New Zealand to earn a certificate in counseling at the Wellington Institute of Technology. Ingram says that Delini Fernando, an assistant professor in the Department of Counseling and Higher Education, was extremely supportive during his studies at UNT.

Facio, who graduated from UNT in May 2009 with a bachelor's degree in communication design, will pursue a master's degree in cultural management from Universidad Iberoamericana-Puebla in Mexico. Facio says Nicholey Schwab, an adjunct faculty member in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, supported him all the way.

In addition to being excellent students, Rotary Ambassadorial scholars must embody the Rotarian ethic of "service above self." In so doing, they must be outstanding ambassadors of their universities, sponsoring Rotary clubs and home countries. The winners each receive $26,000.

"I join my colleagues in celebrating the Ambassadorial Scholarships of Lane and Juan," says James Duban, director of UNT's Office for Nationally Competitive Scholarships. "They were exemplary students at UNT, and they are now alumni who have brought added distinction to themselves and our university by winning these distinguished awards."

Alyssa Yancey with UNT News Service can be reached at Alyssa.yancey@unt.edu.

Read other stories in this issue:

March 2011

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.