<< return to UNT Insider for March 2003


Announcing the First Great UNT Cleanup and Beautification Day, April 5, 2003

For the past 18 years, Keep America Beautiful has sponsored the Great American Cleanup.  This event has become one of our country’s largest community improvement programs.  In 2002, 2.3 million people volunteered in over 13,800 communities across American to participate in a range of activities from litter collection and shoreline cleanup to playground construction and tree planting.  As part of the on-going campus beautification efforts, and in keeping with the spirit of the Great American Cleanup, this year we invite all members of the UNT community to participate in our First Great UNT Cleanup and Beautification Day to be held on Saturday, April 5, 2003.  In the event of inclement weather, the event will be held on Saturday, April 12, 2003.

Planned projects include trash and litter pickup across campus and in the Fry Street area, tree planting at the UNT Research Park, cleaning and preparing flower beds along Avenue C, and other improvement projects including painting of the concrete wall behind Maple Hall along Eagle Drive.  This half-day event will run from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., with volunteers meeting in Lot 10 on the east side of the EESAT building at 8:30 a.m. to get organized.  Alumni, faculty and staff volunteers should contact Bob Killam (killam@unt.edu) and student volunteers should contact Mary Pastorius (MaryP@dsa.admin.unt.edu or 565-3021) to indicate which of the projects listed above they wish to participate.  Please sign up to participate by March 31, 2003.  Following the event, lunch will be provided for the volunteers, sponsored by Norval Pohl, President of UNT, Richard Rafes, Vice President for Administration, and Chuck Fuller, Vice President for Business Services.

The members of the First Great UNT Cleanup and Beautification Day steering committee include Bob Killam, Department of Biological Sciences; Andy Schoolmaster, College of Arts and Sciences; Mary Pastorius, Women’s Center and Volunteer Center; Ken Ballom, Dean of Students; Brian Wheeler, Elm Fork Education Center; William Smith, Housing and Residence Life; Laura Short, University Communications and Marketing; Jim Meernik, Department of Political Science; Charles Jackson, Facilities; John Chalfant, Athletics; and Lanse Fullinwider, Facilities.