# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #
<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | October 2010 Issue | Six UNT-related moments make Top 100 football moments in North Texas history

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

Six UNT-related moments make Top 100 football moments in North Texas history

From a North Texas Super Bowl XLV Host Committee news release

Century in the Making logo

The North Texas Super Bowl XLV Host Committee has unveiled the Top 100 football moments in North Texas history from its Century in the Making voter sweepstakes. Six moments related to the Mean Green football program made the list, including a Top 12 moment for the Mean Green being one of the first college football teams in Texas to integrate.

The sweepstakes program was held in celebration of Super Bowl XLV’s arrival in North Texas in February 2011.

In January, the host committee introduced its Century in the Making program by naming the 250 greatest moments in the history of the North Texas region. The list was compiled by the Century in the Making Action Team, a blue-ribbon panel of local sports broadcasters and reporters. Combined, the group has more than 600 years experience covering football in North Texas.

Throughout the week of Sept. 27, the host committee held a countdown of the Top 100 Moments, as voted for by the fans, at the Hall of State in Fair Park.

UNT football moments that made the Top 100 are:

  • No. 12. Sept. 17, 1956: The state of Texas officially becomes integrated athletically as college football breaks color barriers with the appearance of Abner Haynes and Leon King at North Texas State in Denton. Haynes and King get their start on the Mean Green’s freshman team, but quickly made the jump to varsity.
  • No. 28. Dec. 21, 1960: Dallas Lincoln High School star Abner Haynes, who also played at North Texas State, is named the AFL’s Player of the Year, AFL All-Star and Rookie of the Year in the Dallas Texans’ inaugural season. Haynes dominates the AFL, leading the fledgling league in rushing yards and touchdowns and ranks among the Top 5 in receiving and punt/kickoff returns.
  • No. 36. Dec. 19, 2004: G.A. Moore retires as Texas’ winningest high school coach ever with 404 wins. He spends 39 of his 42 seasons at Pilot Point, his alma mater where he won two state titles; and Celina, where he won six championships. In 2009, Moore comes out of retirement at 70 years old to be the head coach for Aubrey High School.
  • No. 61. Aug 8, 1987: North Texas State University alum "Mean" Joe Greene is inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame after a sterling career with the Pittsburgh Steelers. Greene earns 10 Pro Bowls and wins four Super Bowls as the anchor of Pittsburgh’s famed Steel Curtain defensive line.
  • No. 67. Dec. 23, 2004: Using the previous year’s loss in the championship game as motivational fuel, head coach Todd Dodge's Southlake Carroll Dragons complete their season with a 16-0 record, state championship and USA Today's mythical national championship as the No. 1 schoolboy team in the country.
  • No. 100. Dec. 23, 1962: Abner Haynes scores on a touchdown run and a touchdown pass and Tommy Brooker kicks the game-winning field goal 2:54 into the second overtime as the Dallas Texans defeat the Houston Oilers, 20-17, at Jeppesen Stadium in Houston to win the AFL Championship.

Read other stories in this issue:

October 2010

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.