# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #
<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | October 2010 Issue | UNT welcomes first class of Terry Scholars

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

UNT welcomes first class of Terry Scholars

From a UNT News Service press release

UNT welcomed 16 Terry Scholars with the start of the 2010-11 school year.

The Terry Foundation, Texas' largest private scholarship program, announced last winter that it would expand to include UNT. The first class of scholars was selected this past spring.

The Houston-based Terry Foundation was established by Howard and Nancy Terry in 1986. Since its creation, the foundation has awarded more than $77 million in scholarships. Scholars who are selected demonstrate leadership capabilities, perform well academically, and need financial assistance to achieve their goals in higher education.

The amount of each scholarship stipend is dependent on other scholarship awards and the student's and their parents' financial resources, but the foundation provides sufficient assistance to cover tuition, books, fees and reasonable living expenses for eight full semesters.

UNT's first class of Terry Scholars includes:

  • Mikayla Barber (Irving) an elementary education major;
  • Shera Gary (Cross Plains) a fashion design and marketing major;
  • JaRod Hall (Carrollton) a music education major;
  • Theresa Hunter (Groesbeck) a psychology major;
  • Christopher James (Prosper) a mathematics and secondary education major;
  • Irvin Loza (Lewisville) an international studies major;
  • Katrennah McComb (Round Rock) a biology major;
  • Travis McCullough (Millsap) a business major;
  • Mallory Miner (Tyler) a business accounting major;
  • Clifford Morrison (Hughes Springs) a biochemistry major;
  • Jonathon Quinnelly (Wake Village) a radio, television and film major;
  • Jacob Schumann (Greenville) a biology major;
  • Dillon South (Abilene) a chemistry major;
  • Alyssa Thompson (Dallas) a journalism major;
  • Christopher Turner (Sugar Land) a business major;
  • Chelsey Yamashita (Denton) a political science major.

For more information visit Terry Scholarship website.

Alyssa Yancey with UNT News Service can be reached at alyssa.yancey@unt.edu.

Read other stories in this issue:

October 2010

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.