# University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
UNT Insider #
<em>UNT Insider</em> - Information for UNT alumni and friends

UNT Insider | October 2011 issue | Two more faculty named national fellows

Subscribe   Unsubscribe  

Two more faculty named national fellows

From a UNT News Service press release

Diana Mason

Diana Mason

James Marshall

James Marshall

James Marshall, professor of chemistry, and Diana Mason, associate professor of chemistry, have been named to the 2011 class of American Chemical Society Fellows. This marks the third consecutive year that at least one UNT faculty has been named a fellow.

The American Chemical Society is the world's largest scientific society with more than 163,000 members. The nonprofit organization created the ACS Fellows Program in 2008 to recognize members for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and the society. The 2011 class has 213 fellows.

Marshall earned a doctoral degree in organic chemistry from Ohio State University in 1966, and joined the UNT faculty in 1967. His research revolves around materials research and chemical education. He also researches the history and the discovery of the elements. His studies have carried him to more than 20 countries where he photographed and documented specific sites, which he describes in his publications on chemical history.

After receiving her bachelor's and master's degree, Mason taught chemistry and mathematics at Jesuit College Preparatory School in Dallas for 10 years. In 1994, she received her doctoral degree from the University of Texas at Austin. She joined the UNT faculty in 2001. Mason currently is coordinator of UNT's chemistry education program.

Wes Borden, Robert A. Welch Professor of chemistry at UNT, was part of the inaugural group of ACS Fellows in 2009, and Angela Wilson, Regents Professor of chemistry and co-director of UNT's Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling (CASCaM), was named a fellow in 2010.

Alyssa Yancey with UNT News Service can be reached at Alyssa.Yancey@unt.edu.

Read other stories in this issue:

October 2011

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to president@unt.edu.