University of North Texas

UNT Insider | September 2012 issue | 2012 Murphy luncheon promises insight on business and Cowboys football

Subscribe  Unsubscribe

2012 Murphy luncheon promises insight on business and Cowboys football

From a UNT News Service press release

Jerry Jones

Jerry Jones

Karen Hughes

Karen Hughes

  • What: Ambassador Karen Hughes, who is a business strategist and served as communications director and counselor to former President George W. Bush, will deliver the keynote address at the 2012 BDO USA, LLP Leadership Luncheon. Cowboys owner Jerry Jones will receive the 2012 Murphy Award.
  • When: 11:30 a.m. Nov. 9
  • Where: Hilton Anatole Hotel, 2201 Stemmons Freeway in Dallas
  • Cost: $200 per person or $2,000 for a table of 10. Sponsorships also are available at the $5,000, $10,000 and $15,000 levels. Proceeds will go to a scholarship fund for UNT students pursuing entrepreneurship.

Ambassador Karen Hughes, who also is global vice chair of Burson-Marsteller, will be the keynote speaker at the 2012 UNT Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship's BDO USA, LLP Leadership Luncheon in Dallas, where Dallas Cowboys Owner Jerry Jones will receive the Murphy Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship.

Before joining Burson-Marsteller in 2008, Hughes served as former President George W. Bush's communications director in 2000 and from 2001 to 2002 as counselor to the president, a title reflective of her role as strategic advisor to President Bush. She also was responsible for reaching out to audiences across the world on behalf of the United States as U.S. Undersecretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs from 2005 to 2007.

Each year at the event, the prestigious Murphy Award is presented to a deserving business leader, honoring lifetime achievement in entrepreneurship. This year's award winner is Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

Jones made his first fortune in the 1970s drilling natural gas wells, and later bought the Dallas Cowboys in 1989 for $150 million. As the Dallas Cowboys owner, Jones has guided the team's rise in status to the level of being America's most valuable sports organization, at $1.85 billion. The team won three Super Bowls in the 1990s, and Jones became the first NFL owner in history to lead his team to three championships in his first seven years of ownership.  The new 110,000-seat Cowboys Stadium in Arlington hosted the 2011 Super Bowl and produces league-leading revenues.

In the past 11 years, Jones has worked with the Cowboys to raise more than $1 billion for the Salvation Army. He also has made an impact in the fields of marketing, corporate sponsorships, television, stadium management, stadium development, labor negotiations and community service. 

Past Murphy Award recipients include Trammell Crow, H. Ross Perot, Ebby Halliday, Herb Kelleher and Sam Wyly.

The Leadership Luncheon has been an annual event for the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship since 2002. This year marks the event's 11th anniversary. Past keynote speakers include H. Ross Perot, George Foreman and Nolan Ryan.

Proceeds from the Leadership Luncheon are used for scholarships, student awards and programs offered through the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship. Each year at the luncheon student scholarships are awarded, donors are recognized and winners of the Center's New Venture Creation Contest are announced.

The Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship, housed in UNT's College of Business, opened its doors in 2000 with a $1 million donation from Ken and the late Shirley Murphy, founders and owners of The Mail Box. The center encourages entrepreneurship by providing students with counseling, mentoring and training opportunities that help them turn ideas into viable business entities.

More information on the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship and the Leadership Luncheon can be found at

Leslie Wimmer with UNT News Service can be reached at

Read other stories in this issue:

September 2012

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to