University of North Texas

UNT Insider | September 2013 issue | Fashion icon Daymond John to speak at UNT's Murphy Center luncheon, alumnus Norm Miller to receive Murphy Award

Subscribe  Unsubscribe

Fashion icon Daymond John to speak at UNT's Murphy Center luncheon, alumnus Norm Miller to receive Murphy Award

From a UNT News Service press release

Norm Miller

Norm Miller

Daymond John

Daymond John

Daymond John, founder of the fashion brand FUBU and a cast member of ABC's Shark Tank, will be the keynote speaker about entrepreneurship at the 2013 UNT Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship's BDO USA, LLP Leadership Luncheon Nov. 8 in Dallas. UNT alumnus Norm Miller, chairman of Interstate Batteries, will receive the annual Murphy Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship.

John is known for founding the fashion brand FUBU, which stands for "For Us By Us," after making tie-top hats and selling them on the streets of Queens, New York. Buoyed by the success of his hats, John and his partners began offering other types of apparel with the FUBU logo, eventually gaining national exposure for the brand and hitting $350 million in annual sales.

In 2009, John joined the ABC reality show Shark Tank, in which he serves as one of the "sharks" listening to entrepreneurial business plans and choosing ideas in which to invest. He is also the author of Display of Power: How FUBU Changed a World of Fashion, Branding and Lifestyle and The Brand Within: How We Brand Ourselves, From Birth to the Boardroom.

For his entrepreneurial leadership, John has been recognized with the:

  • Brandweek Marketer of the Year award
  • Advertising Age Marketing 1000 Award for Outstanding Ad Campaign
  • Crain's Business of New York Forty Under Forty Award
  • Ernst & Young's New York Entrepreneur of the Year Award.
  • What: Daymond John, founder of fashion brand FUBU and cast member on ABC's Shark Tank, will deliver the keynote address at the 2013 BDO USA, LLP Leadership Luncheon. UNT alumnusNorm Miller, chairman of Interstate Batteries, will be honored with the Murphy Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship.
  • When: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Nov. 8
  • Where: Hilton Anatole Hotel, 2201 North Stemmons Freeway in Dallas
  • Cost: $200 per person or $2,000 for a table of 10. Sponsorships also are available at the $5,000, $10,000 and $15,000 levels. Proceeds will go to a scholarship fund for UNT students pursuing entrepreneurship. Register online.

Miller, who began his career as a salesman at Interstate Batteries and eventually became the head of the company, will be presented with this year's Murphy Award, given to an entrepreneur for a lifetime of achievement in business. After graduating from UNT in 1962, he began working as a salesman for Interstate at his father's distributorship in Tennessee. He later returned to the North Texas area to work for Interstate's founder, John Searcy. In 1978, he became CEO and chairman of Interstate and expanded the company to more than 200,000 dealers across North America. Miller stepped down as CEO in 1990 and now serves as chairman of Interstate, which is known as the No. 1 replacement brand battery in North America.

Past recipients of the Murphy Award have included Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, EDS and Perot Systems Corp. founder H. Ross Perot, real estate legend Ebby Halliday and businessman Sam Wyly.

Also at the event, the center will award student scholarships and recognize donors. Student winners will be announced for the center's New Venture Creation Contest, in which students earn seed money to launch their businesses.

About the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship

The Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship, housed in the UNT College of Business, opened its doors in 2000 with a $1 million donation from Ken and the late Shirley Murphy, founders and owners of The Mail Box. The center encourages entrepreneurship by providing students with counseling, mentoring and training opportunities that help them turn ideas into viable business entities. The annual Leadership Luncheon began in 2002 with General Norman Schwarzkopf as the inaugural speaker. Previous keynote speakers at the luncheon have included boxer George Foreman and baseball legend Nolan Ryan.

About the UNT College of Business

With more than 5,600 students, the UNT College of Business is one of the largest business schools in the nation and has been continuously accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International since 1961. With 112 full-time faculty members, the college offers 17 undergraduate degrees, 24 master's degrees and 10 graduate certificate programs. Five centers and institutes in the College of Business create synergy among scholarship, research and teaching. Classes take place in the 180,000-square-foot Business Leadership Building, which opened in 2011. Students enhance their learning experience through student organizations, study abroad programs, internships and the Professional Leadership Program to develop the skills and knowledge they need to succeed in today's technological and global business environment.


Read other stories in this issue:

September 2013

About UNT Insider

The UNT Insider is brought to you by the Office of the President in conjunction with the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing. Please send any comments or suggestions to