Volume 16 - 2006

UNT - University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas
Science, Scholarship &
the Arts at the University of North Texas

Home | Staff


UNT Research is published by the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing and the Office of the Vice President for Research, University of North Texas, P.O. Box 310979, Denton, Texas 76203-0979, (940) 369-7487. The publication is mailed periodically from Denton, Texas. Articles may be reprinted in their entirety with acknowledgment unless they are published in UNT Research by permission of another source. Requests for photographs or illustrations should be addressed to the editors at URCM, University of North Texas, P.O. Box 311070, Denton, Texas 76203-1070, (940) 565-2108.

It is the policy of the University of North Texas not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, disability (where reasonable accommodations can be made), disabled veteran status or veteran of the Vietnam era status in its educational programs, activities, admissions or employment policies. In addition to complying with federal and state equal opportunity laws and regulations, the university through its diversity policy declares harassment based on individual differences (including sexual orientation) inconsistent with its mission and educational goals. Direct questions or concerns to the equal opportunity office, (940) 565-2103, or the dean of students, (940) 565-2648. TTY access is available at (940) 369-8652.

UNT Research is a member of the University Research Magazine Association. It is a continuation of UNT's Resource magazine.

Special thanks to Howard Johnson, provost and vice president for academic affairs, and UNT deans and vice presidents for their contributions.

Research Office

Interim Vice President for Research
Art Goven

Associate Vice President for Research
Reata Busby

Associate Vice President for Technology Transfer
Don Henley


Vice President for University Relations, Communications and Marketing
Deborah Leliaert

Assistant Vice President of University Relations, Communications and Marketing
Marty Newman

Executive Director of Communications and Media Relations
Kim Leach

Director of News and Information
Roddy Wolper

Director of University Publications
Leonard Strub

Director of University Online Communications
Kenn Moffitt

Creative Director
Diana Bracken

Publication Designer
Karen Dorff

Web Designer
Jacob King

Angilee Wilkerson

Jill King
Mellina Stucky

Sally Bell
Cass Bruton
Nancy Kolsti
Sara LaJeunesse
Kim MacQueen
James Naples
Ellen Rossetti

Jack Ferguson
Robin Fletcher
Rafael McDonnell
Julie Elliott Payne

Print Traffic Coordinator
Laura Robinson


President's Note

Research at UNT is student centered, broad based and far reaching.

News Briefs

UNT research ranges from brain tracking to eye tracking, RFID to VoIP, early college high schools to early music.

Student Researchers

Student research includes quantum mechanics, mathematical modeling, computer programming and linguistic profiling.

Alumni Researchers

Cultural health beliefs, computational perception of motion, space station hardware and genetics occupy these former UNT students.

Faculty Books

UNT authors write on emergency management, multiphase flows, structural equation modeling and entrepreneurship.

End Note

Miguel Acevedo's research makes environmental issues clear.