Volume 17 - 2008
UNT - University of North Texas - Discover the Power of Ideas

Science, Scholarship &
the Arts at the University of North Texas


UNT Research is published by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development and the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing, University of North Texas. The research office can be reached at P.O. Box 310979, Denton, Texas 76203-0979, (940) 369-7487. The publication is mailed periodically from Denton, Texas.

Articles may be reprinted in their entirety with acknowledgment unless they are published in UNT Research by permission of another source. Requests for photographs or illustrations should be addressed to the editors at URCM, University of North Texas, P.O. Box 311070, Denton, Texas 76203-1070, (940) 565-2108.

It is the policy of the University of North Texas not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, disability (where reasonable accommodations can be made), disabled veteran status or veteran of the Vietnam era status in its educational programs, activities, admissions or employment policies. In addition to complying with federal and state equal opportunity laws and regulations, the university through its diversity policy declares harassment based on individual differences (including sexual orientation) inconsistent with its mission and educational goals. Direct questions or concerns to the equal opportunity office, (940) 565-2737, or the dean of students, (940) 565-2648. TTY access is available at (940) 369-8652.

Research Office

Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Vishwanath "Vish" Prasad

Associate Vice President for Research
Reata Houlditch Busby


Vice President for University Relations,
Communications and Marketing

Deborah Leliaert

Assistant Vice President of University Relations,
Communications and Marketing

Marty Newman

Director of University Relations
and Communications

Kelley Reese

Director of Communications Systems
and Creative Services

Kenn Moffitt

Steven Altuna
Nola Kemp
Sean Zeigler

Jonathan Reynolds
Angilee Wilkerson
Mike Woodruff

Julie Elliott Payne
Jill King
Mellina Stucky

Linda Stewart Ball
Sally Bell
Nancy Kolsti
Rafael McDonnell
Ellen Rossetti
Mark Wright

Online Communications
Jacob King
Darren Petersen

Robin Fletcher
David Ryan

Project Traffic
Laura Robinson


President's Note

Exploration of ideas provides the foundation for a bold research agenda.

News Briefs

New leaders set a new course, and awards and grants help develop materials, save endangered languages, protect the environment.

New Faculty

Researchers bring work in accounting, photography, plant pathology and thermal-fluid sciences to UNT.

Student Researchers

Student research covers medical physics, human rights, computational chemistry, music education, ethics.

Faculty Books

UNT authors write about higher education, cost control, police patrol, copyright law.

End Note

Interdisciplinary collaborations advance the greater good.

Web page last updated or revised: April 25, 2008
Questions or comments about this web site? urcm@unt.edu

"University of North Texas," "UNT," "Discover the power of ideas" and their associated identity marks, as well as the eagle and talon graphic marks, are official trademarks of the University of North Texas; their use by others is legally restricted. If you have questions about using any of these marks, please contact the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing at (940) 565-2108 or e-mail branding@unt.edu.