How can we save our water?


Alan Needleman

Alan Needleman received the 2011 Timoshenko Medal, the highest international award in the field of applied mechanics.

Photo by: Jonathan Reynolds

Timoshenko Medal

Alan Needleman, professor of materials science and engineering, received the 2011 Timoshenko Medal — the highest international award in the field of applied mechanics — from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. As part of the honor, he spoke at the Applied Mechanics dinner at the society's annual meeting.

Needleman, a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, was recognized for his work in understanding the deformation and fracture of materials using computational modeling.

He is a member of UNT's Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling, Institute for Science and Engineering Simulation and two interdisciplinary research clusters — Materials Modeling, and Renewable Energy and Conservation.

Jiyoung Cha

Jiyoung Cha received an Emerging Scholars Program Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

Photo by: Gary Payne

Emerging Scholar

Jiyoung Cha, assistant professor of radio, television and film, was one of just four recipients of the 2011 Emerging Scholars Program Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. Cha won the award for her project, "Social Television: Redefinition of Social Interaction among Television Viewers in the 21st Century," which looks at new media trends and examines why Facebook and Twitter users share what they're watching.

Cha noted that families used to watch television together, but now individual family members are likely to have their own TVs, computers or other devices and share the experience online.

Her research focuses on adoption of new media, business models of new media and the relationship between new technologies and traditional media from management and marketing perspectives. Her work has appeared in publications including the Journal of Media Economics, the International Journal on Media Management, the Asian Journal of Communication, the Journal of Interactive Advertising, and the Journal of Electronic Commerce Research.

Professional Statistician

Victor Prybutok

Victor Prybutok was designated a Professional Statistician by the American Statistical Association.

Photo by: Gary Payne

Professional Statistician

Victor Prybutok, Regents Professor of decision sciences and associate dean of the Toulouse Graduate School, was designated as a Professional Statistician. Only 50 statisticians worldwide were originally selected by the American Statistical Association to pilot the application process for the newly created designation.

The ASA, which began the accreditation process last year, requires applicants to submit a portfolio and bases the selection on education, professional competence, communication skills and professional development. The association's members serve in industry, government and academia in more than 90 countries, advancing research and promoting statistical practice to inform public policy and improve human welfare.

Prybutok, who also served as the director of the Center for Quality and Productivity in the College of Business from 1991 to 2008, has written more than 100 journal articles and served as principal or co-principal investigator on more than 40 funded projects in applied and theoretical areas of information systems measurement, quality control, risk assessment, applied statistics and the instruction of statistics.

UNT chemistry department faculty

From left, James Marshall, Diana Mason and Wes Borden earned honors from the American Chemical Society in 2011.

Photo by: Gary Payne

ACS Honors

Three chemistry department faculty members received prestigious honors from the American Chemical Society. James Marshall and Diana Mason were named to the 2011 Class of ACS Fellows, which is awarded for outstanding achievements and contributions to science.

Marshall, professor of chemistry, studies materials research, the history and discovery of the elements and chemical education. He also is a national speaker on the ACS tour circuit.

Mason, associate professor of chemistry, serves as coordinator of the chemistry education program and researches how chemistry is taught in schools and how chemistry students learn chemistry content. She also moderates UNT's Mean Green Chemistry Demo Team, which performs demonstration shows at schools, museums, conferences and universities.

The ACS also recognized Wes Borden, Robert A. Welch Professor of Chemistry and Distinguished Research Professor, with its prestigious James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry, given for outstanding contributions in that field. Borden studies the structures and reactions of organic materials by using molecular orbital theory, a form of quantum mechanics.

Four UNT faculty members are now ACS Fellows. Angela Wilson, Regents Professor of chemistry and co-director of the Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling, was named in 2010 and Borden was inducted in 2009.

Vish Prasad

Vish Prasad was recognized for his international leadership in establishing research partnerships in more than 20 countries.

Photo by: Gary Payne

International Leadership

Vish Prasad, vice president for research and economic development, received the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities for his success in establishing dozens of international research partnerships in more than 20 countries in four continents.

In his four years at UNT, Prasad has created alliances with seven elite research institutions and centers in three cities in India — Mumbai, Bangalore and Chennai — as well as with leading institutions in China. He also led the development of a master's program planned for UNT and the Universidad de Magallanes in Punta Arenas, Chile. These collaborations have led to exchange opportunities for faculty members and students and helped UNT establish an international presence.

Prasad had already received recognitions from the Latin American and Carib­bean Consortium of Engineering Institutions and several other organizations in the U.S. and South America.


President's Note

Transformative research and education


Student research and sustainability


Timoshenko Medal, ACS awards, international leadership

News Briefs

I-Corps, black holes, new clusters, Lone Star Professor

Faculty Researchers

Experts in engineering, computer science, poetry, environmental studies, instrumental studies

Student Researchers

Mercury legislation, math algorithms, library education, media ethics, neuroscience, consumer behavior

Faculty Books

Politics, natural language processing, sociology

End Note

Research momentum and support

Web page last updated or revised: March 15, 2012
Questions or comments about this web site?

The UNT System and the University of North Texas are the owners of all of their trademarks, service marks, trade names, slogans, graphic images and photography, and they may not be used without permission. If you have questions about using any of this material, please contact the UNT Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing at 940-565-3520 or email