Emmy winner joins College of Music as Composer-in-Residence

Emmy-winning composer Bruce Broughton will be joining UNT's College of Music as Composer-in-Residence (Concert and New Media) in the Division of Composition Studies for the 2017-2018 school year. He also will be collaborating with the Division of Jazz Studies, the Division of Conducting and Ensembles, as well as the Department of Media Arts in the UNT College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences.

Bruce is best known for his many film scores, which include SilveradoTombstone, The Rescuers Down Under, Miracle on 34th Street, the Homeward Bound adventures, and Harry and the Hendersons, among othersHis television themes include JAG, Steven Spielberg’s Tiny Toon Adventures and Dinosaurs. His scores for television range from mini-series like Roughing It and The Blue and Gray to TV movies (Warm Springs, O Pioneers!) and countless episodes of television series such as Dallas, Quincy, Hawaii Five-O, and How the West Was Won.

With 24 nominations, Bruce has won a record 10 Emmy awards. His score to Silverado was Oscar-nominated, and his score to Young Sherlock Holmes was nominated for a Grammy. His music has accompanied many of the Disney theme park attractions throughout the world. His score for Heart of Darkness was the first recorded orchestral score for a video game. He currently is working on a new television show entitled Orville with Seth MacFarlane, that is due to pilot on Fox this fall.

As a concert composer, ensembles such as the Cleveland Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the National Symphony Orchestra, and the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra have performed Bruce's works. He has served as Composer-in-Residence for the Santa Barbara Symphony Orchestra. His works for wind ensembles, bands, and chamber groups have been performed and recorded throughout the world.

Bruce is a board member of ASCAP, a former governor of both the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, as well as a past president and founding member of The Society of Composers and Lyricists. 

Bruce will be on the UNT campus for four, one-week residencies throughout the 2017-2018 school year.