UNT Retiree Association hosts annual brunch Sept. 13

Aug. 31, 2016

Members of the UNT Retiree Association (UNTRA) will celebrate the association's longstanding commitment to the university and contributions to the Denton community at the group's fall brunch Sept. 13.

The UNTRA's 2016 Fall Brunch will be from 9:30 to 11 a.m. Sept. 13 at the UNT Gateway Center. UNT President Neal Smatresk will serve as guest speaker.

"This is a special time for our association and we are thrilled to have President Smatresk join us," says Keith Shelton, chair of the UNT Retiree Association. "Our members are active in the community and volunteer at university functions. This is a great opportunity to celebrate their work and dedication."

The free annual event is open to all retired faculty and staff members. Retired faculty and staff who are not members may join the organization at the brunch, Shelton said.

"We hold a series of academic updates every year in which members visit the university to keep up with the latest developments," he said. "Our members also volunteer at various university functions and serve as ambassadors in the broader Denton community."

The Peterbilt truck plant, Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Denton regional headquarters and the Denton Record-Chronicle are among local businesses that UNTRA members have toured. Members also attend College of Music concerts and athletic events on campus as a group and hold a group dinner beforehand, Shelton says.

To RSVP for the UNTRA's 2016 Fall Brunch, email UNTRA@unt.edu or call 940 565-3482.


The UNT Retiree Association has more than 200 members and is dedicated to serving retired faculty and staff members, as well as the university. UNTRA members volunteer at various university functions and serve as ambassadors of UNT in the broader Denton community. The association also represents the interests of UNT retirees to the university. Learn about membership.

Current Board Members

  • Keith Shelton (Journalism), chairman
  • Johnny Sue Reynolds (Merchandising and Conference Management)
  • Ken Dickson (Environmental Sciences)
  • Ed Glick (Radio, Television, Film)
  • Tom Hoemeke (International Studies)
  • Melody Kelly (Library)
  • Bob Killam (Environmental Sciences)
  • Clarice Luce (Library)
  • Richard Simms (Education)
  • John Todd (Political Science)
  • Vicki Whitmer (University Union)
  • Jim Morrow (Kinesiology)
  • Kay Selby (Academic Publications)
  • Marcilla Collinsworth (Admissions)
  • Lenora McCroskey (College of Music)
  • Claudia Lynch (Computing Center)
  • Mike Amador (Police)