Nov. 5, 2018

Dear UNT community,

UNT's institutional excellence is regularly recognized by leading organizations such as U.S. News & World ReportMoney and The Princeton Review. Just last year, we were named one of America's Best Employers and a Best Employer for Women by Forbes, No. 2 on's list of best college food, and were named for the third time to Phi Theta Kappa's Excellence in Community College Transfer Honor Roll. We have a lot to be proud of.

In addition to celebrating institutional achievements, it also is important to recognize the individuals who soar higher and embody the UNT spirit, work ethic and commitment to service. 

The nomination window is open through Friday, Jan. 18 for three UNT Presidential Awards: the UNT Community Award, the Special Recognition Award and the Bob Rogers Service and Community Engagement Award.

  • The UNT Community Award is open to students, faculty and staffnominees who have demonstrated outstanding service within the UNT community. This person has enriched the UNT experience through servant-leadership and consistent and meaningful involvement in the campus community.
  • The Special Recognition Award also honors students, faculty and staff. Nominees for this award have provided outstanding service through momentous or unique talent that has enriched the university and resulted in infectious UNT pride.
  • The Bob Rogers Service and Community Engagement Award is given to a faculty or staff member whose talent, dedication, passion and community service enhances UNT and the greater community, and helps them maintain strong bonds. The distinct and required characteristic of the recipient is a genuine attitude of selfless service, kindness and joy. 

If you know individuals who deserve these honors, please nominate them by the Friday, Jan. 18 deadline. These awards will be presented to faculty recipients at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner on Thursday, April 25, student recipients at Honors Day on Friday, April 26, and staff recipients at the spring Staff Appreciation Luncheon.

These Presidential Awards honor those who have not only elevated themselves, but also those around them and the Mean Green family. Help us honor those who consistently achieve the highest levels of excellence and service. 

UNT Proud, 

Neal Smatresk