DATCU Credit Union Logo

Staff Appreciation Luncheon

11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Wednesday, March 8, Coliseum

Join us for our annual luncheon and awards ceremony. Fajitas will be served and door prizes awarded. The awards presentation will begin around 11:50 a.m. and this year will include the presentation of three Presidential Awards to staff members.


Presidential Awards Recipients


Bob Rogers Service/Community Engagement Award

  • Ed Reynolds, UNT Police

President’s Special Recognition

  • Desiree Padron, First Generation Success Center

UNT Community Award

  • Nadia Guevara, Risk Management
Staff Appreciation Awards Recipients


Steve Miller Outstanding Employee Award

  • Natalie Bernard, G. Brint Ryan College of Business Graduate Programs
  • Katie Herring, Vice President for Research and Innovation office
  • Kelley Pound, University Brand Strategy and Communications
  • Megan Wheeler, Office of the President

Administrative Professionals Award

  • Gylynn Hanson, Vice President for Finance and Administration office
  • Chaunta Laurent,  College of Health and Public Service dean's office
  • Rhiannon White, Division of Planning

Creating UNiTy Award

  • Jessica DeLeon, University Brand Strategy and Communications
  • Macy Elzonkoly, College of Information dean's office
  • Lucy Gafford, UNT WISE - Workplace Inclusion
  • Linda McKeiver, UNT at Frisco

Customer Service Award

  • Jay Dotson, Digital Strategy and Innovation Tech
  • Lisa Hollinger, College of Information dean's office
  • Laila Reis, Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science dean's office
  • Scott Windham, Police Services
  • Zachary Yeager, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Student Services

Digital Innovation Award

  • Chris Foster, Student Accounting
  • Neely Shirey, Facilities

Excellence in Leadership Award

  • Abraham John, Digital Strategy and Innovation
  • Sampath Pamidimukkala, College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism

Mentorship Award

  • Joanna Hussey, Office of the Provost
  • Angela Millican, Toulouse Graduate School dean's office
  • Ana White, New College

Rising Star Award

  • Cindy Clark, Physics
  • Cody Faucett, Facilities
  • Toni Sorsdal, University Integrity and Compliance

Staff Excellence in Research

  • Ryan O'Shaughnessy, College of Science

Soaring Integrity Award

  • Wendy Risdon, College of Science

Student Success Award

  • Danielle Champagne, Student Money Management Center
  • Jared Countryman, Academic Technologies
  • Leandra Dinicola, Career Center
  • Heather Guerrero, Enrollment Systems
  • Yunju Langran, International Affairs

Teamwork Award

  • Experiences at UNT at Frisco
    • Robert Brown, New College
    • Megan Cunningham, Division of Student Affairs, Frisco
    • Courtney Graham, UNT at Frisco
    • Rachel Grimes, Division of Student Affairs, Frisco
    • Katie McCoy, New College
    • Latrice Moore, Admissions
    • Kevin Sanders, Division of Student Affairs, Frisco
    • Jennifer Theodore, UNT at Frisco
    • Ana White, New College
    • Matt Wierzbicki, Digital Strategy and Innovation Administration
  • Multicultural Center and Counseling Diverse Students
    • Lilliesha Grandberry, Counseling and Testing
    • Joshua Hamilton, Multicultural Center
    • Marcos Villarreal, Multicultural Center
  • President's List Certificates
    • Diana Bergeman, G. Brint Ryan College of Business
    • Jamie Moreno, Office of the Provost
  • Work Control
    • Kathy Neira, Facilities
    • Lusymarr Ramirez, Facilities
    • Christian Stobaugh, Facilities

UNT Spirit Award

  • Daniel Bernardo, Digital Strategy and Innovation - CLEAR
  • Adam Chavez, College of Information dean's office
  • Winston Franscini, Admissions
  • Dana Mordecai, Admissions
  • Sergio Renovato-Vasquez, University Union Administration

Learning Sessions

Various dates throughout March.

Staff members can learn plenty of new skills and hobbies throughout Staff Appreciation Month. Sessions require registration on UNT Bridge. Just follow the registration link that's listed after each session.

Recreational Sports Offerings

Throughout March

Pohl Rec Center Memberships

During the month of March, sign up for a five-day FREE Trial at the Pohl Recreation Center! Log in to the UNT Rec Sports Member Portal, select FACULTY STAFF FREE WEEK, choose the date you would like for your five (consecutive) day free trial to begin, and enter the promo code NEW2023 before checking out to bring the price down to $0.00.

March 6-10

Free Group Exercise Classes

For five days, all lunch-time group exercise classes will be free for Rec Sports members (including those with a five-day free trial membership) by entering the promo code SAMGX upon checkout. Free registration for these classes will begin on Sunday, March 5. View and register for classes.

For any Rec Sports questions, contact Wendy Comfort.

Service Awards Ceremony

3-5 p.m. Tuesday, March 28, Union Ballroom 314

UNT will recognize 535 employees who reached a milestone anniversary between 5 and 55 years of service with the university in calendar year 2022. Join us to celebrate the honorees.

Dining Discount

Throughout March

Dining Services is offering discounted, all-you-care-to-eat meals for staff and faculty for $7 plus tax for the entire month of March. The offer is valid for breakfast, lunch and dinner in Bruceteria, Champs, Mean Greens Café and Eagle Landing. Just present your valid UNT ID card and pay with credit/debit or contactless payment at the door. Also, new this year, faculty and staff can enjoy a dessert from Avesta all month for only $1.50 by presenting their valid UNT ID card at the register.